Back to IndieWire

Academy Holds Election

Academy Holds Election

Per Sharon Waxman of The Wrap: Hollywood-hating conservatives are going to have a field day with this. Per Sydney: Two new female appointees is an encouraging sign. Women & Hollywood has this to say:

Here’s why awards matter. Kathryn Bigelow who we all know won the best director Oscar this year is receiving two different honors. Even though she has a distinguished body of work I doubt she would have gotten either had she not kicked butt on The Hurt Locker. First, she was elected to the board of governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences. The board of governors totals 43 people from all the branches in the Academy. She joins Martha Coolidge and Ed Zwick as representatives of the directing branch. The directing branch is one of the only ones that has two women and a guy. Maybe the two of them can get some more women into the directing branch of the Academy so that we will see more women nominated. This is progress.

Bigelow will also be honored by The Museum of Modern Art in NYC on November 10, 2010, and in June 2011 the Museum will show a retrospective of her work.
Here’s some info from the press release:

As the first female director to garner directing awards by the Academy, BAFTA, and the DGA, Bigelow creates immersive movies that leave the viewer simultaneously exhilarated and affected, thinking, and feeling, while transforming the language of genre films to serve her content.

Within the Museum’s collection, a selection of Bigelow’s films are represented, including Point Break, Blue Steel (1989), Near Dark, The Loveless (1982), and The Set-Up (1978). In June 2011, MoMA’s Department of Film will present a retrospective of Bigelow’s entire career with screenings of all of her feature films. In conjunction with the retrospective, the Museum has acquired Bigelow’s paper archive which documents all of her film projects from The Set-Up to The Hurt Locker, from pre-production research through production notes to post-release publicity and press materials. The archive contains both process and creative documentation such as storyboards, scripts, filming schedules, location scouting reports, and casting notes. The collection also includes unrealized scripts and other projects.

The Female Factor: SEVEN ♀ on the board of governors. Not very progressive. 14 branches each with 3 governors, plus one branch with only one governor 7 out of 43 = 16%.

Beverly Hills, CA – A trio of Oscar® recipients – director Kathryn Bigelow ♀ , film editor Anne Coates ♀ and documentarian Michael Moore – make up the year’s first-time electees to Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ Board of Governors. Coates received her award for the editing of “Lawrence of Arabia,” Moore won in the Documentary Feature category for “Bowling from Columbine,” and Bigelow received Oscars® this year in the Directing category and as one of the producers of “The Hurt Locker.” In addition, nine incumbents were reelected and three other filmmakers will return to the Board after a time away.

The reelected governors are Curt Behlmer, Sound Branch; Rosemary Brandenburg ♀, Art Directors; Richard Edlund, Visual Effects; Leonard Engelman, Makeup Artists and Hairstylists; Charles Fox, Music; Jim Gianopulos, Executives; Hawk Koch, Producers; Marvin Levy, Public Relations; and Frank Pierson, Writers.

Returning to the board after a hiatus are John Bailey, Cinematographers; Ed Begley, Jr., Actors; and Jon Bloom, Short Films and Feature Animation. Bailey previously served on the board from 1996 to 2002; Begley and Bloom both were governors from 2000 to 2009.

Fourteen of the Academy’s 15 branches are represented by three governors, who may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms. Terms are staggered so that each branch elects or reelects one governor each year. The Makeup Artists and Hairstylists Branch is represented by a single governor.

Governors who were not up for reelection and who continue on the Board are Annette Bening ♀ and Tom Hanks, Actors Branch; Jim Bissell and Jeffrey Kurland, Art Directors; Caleb Deschanel and Owen Roizman, Cinematographers; Martha Coolidge ♀ and Edward Zwick, Directors; Rob Epstein and Lynne Littman ♀, Documentary; Robert Rehme and Tom Sherak, Executives; Donn Cambern and Mark Goldblatt, Film Editors; Bruce Broughton and Arthur Hamilton, Music; Mark Johnson and Kathleen Kennedy ♀, Producers; Robert G. Friedman and Sid Ganis, Public Relations; Bill Kroyer and John Lasseter, Short Films and Feature Animation; Don Hall and Kevin O’Connell, Sound; Craig Barron and Bill Taylor, Visual Effects; and James L. Brooks and Phil Robinson, Writers.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Uncategorized and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox