Back to IndieWire

Academy Governors Honor Coppola, Godard, Wallach, and Brownlow

Academy Governors Honor Coppola, Godard, Wallach, and Brownlow

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ Board of Governors has voted to honor Francis Ford Coppola with the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award, given to “a creative producer whose body of work reflects a consistently high quality of motion picture production,” at this year’s Governor’s Awards dinner on Saturday November 13. Director Jean-Luc Godard, actor Eli Wallach, and preservationist Kevin Brownlow will also be receiving honorary awards at the event. The Honorary Award is rewarded for “extraordinary distinction in lifetime achievement, exceptional contributions to the state of motion picture arts and sciences, or for outstanding service to the Academy.”

Coppola will be honored for his long and illustrious career in the film industry. Coppola’s work includes Oscar-award winning work on “The Godfather,” “The Godfather Part II,” and “Patton.” Coppola is the producer of the classics “American Graffiti,” “Gardens of Stone,” “Bram Stoker’s Dracula,” “Mary Shelly’s Frankenstein,” “The Outsiders,” and “Lost in Translation.” Godard will be honored for his work as one of the key figures of the French New Wave. Godard is best known for his work on films like “Breathless,” “Contempt,” and “Alphaville.”

Godard just premiered his new film “Film Socialisme” at this year’s Cannes. Wallach started his acting career in Elia Kazan’s “Baby Doll” and continued with roles in “The Magnificent Seven,” “The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly,” and “The Godfather, Part III.” Brownlow, a historian and preservationist, is best known for his work on the silent era and was responsible for the restoration projects of Abel Gance’s “Napoleon” and Rex Ingram’s “The Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse” and “The Thief of Bagdad.”

Speaking on the announcement of the award honorees, Academy President Tom Sherak noted, “Each of these honorees has touched movie audiences worldwide and influenced the motion picture industry through their work. It will be an honor to celebrate their extraordinary achievements and contributions at the Governors Awards.”

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox