Back to IndieWire

“Habana Eva” Comes Out On Top at Los Angeles Latino Film Festival

"Habana Eva" Comes Out On Top at Los Angeles Latino Film Festival

Fina Torres’ “Habana Eva” was last night’s big winner at the closing night awards ceremony for the 14th edition of the Los Angeles Latino International Film Festival (LALIFF). The film took home the Rita Award for Best Feature Film, while Tatiana Gaviola’s “Teresa” went on to receive an honorable mention in the same category.

In the Best Documentary category, Jose Sanchez-Montres Gonzalez’s “Tiempo De Leyenda” shared the prize with “El Ambulante,” from directors Eduardo de la Serna, Lucas Marcheggiano and Adriana Yorcovich. An Honorable Mention meanwhile went to Cosuelo Alba and John Speye’s doc “El Andalon: A Maverich Humanitarian in Chiapas.”

“The artistic accomplishments of the films and filmmakers this year truly ranked among LALIFF’s best,” said LALIFF Executive Director Marlene Dermer in a statement. “As difficult as it made our jury’s selection process to single any film from the rest, our audiences were rewarded every time they entered the theater to watch them. We take our role in bringing these films to the public’s attention and providing a spotlight on the best work of our Latino filmmaking artists very seriously, and the shared love of film and sense of community between filmmakers and fans, artists and patrons evident over the course of this year’s festival could not be more gratifying.”

A total of 91 films screened over the course of the festival which kicked off August 19. LALIFF’s closing night also marked the conclusion of its 2010 Youth Program. In conjunction with that lineup LALIFF also gave out a special award from the British Film Academy (BAFTA) to Franchesco Ramos’ “Breakaway,” for Best High School Film. As part of the award, the filmmaker will receive 100 DVD copies of his film, courtesy of BAFTA.

– The night’s full list of winners can be found on page two. –

Best Feature Film (RITA AWARD)

“Habana Eva”
Director: Fina Torres
Country: Cuba/Venezuela/France

Honorable Mention – Best Feature Film

Director: Tatiana Gaviola
Country: Chile

Best Documentary

“Tiempo De Leyenda”
Director: Jose Sanchez-Montes Gonzalez
Country: Spain

“El Ambulante”
Director: Eduardo de la Serna, Lucas Marcheggiano, Adriana Yorcovich
Country: Argentina

Honorable Mention – Best Documentary

“El Andalon: A Maverich Humanitarian in Chiapas”
Director: Cosuelo Alba, John Speyer
Country: United States/Mexico

Best Opera Prima

“Mal Dia Para Pescar”
Director: Alvaro Bechner
Country: Spain/Uruguay

Honorable Mention – Best Opera Prima

“Oveja Negra”
Director: Humberto Hinojosa Ozcariz
Country: Mexico/Spain

Best Short Film

Director: Cristina Escoda
Country: United States

Honorable Mention – Best Short Film

“Los Dias De Verano Son Mas Largos”
Director: Aina Calleja
Country: Mexico

Honorable Mention – Best Short Film

Director: Juan Francisco Viruega
Country: Spain

Honorable Mention – Best Short Film

Director: Yancy Arias
Country: United States

Best Animated Short Film

Director: Rafael Cardenas & Raul Cardenas
Country: Mexico

Best Director

Anna Muylaert (“E Probido Fumar”)
Country: Brazil

Best Screenplay

Roberto Fontanarrosa & Rodrigo Grande (“Cuestion de Principios”)
Country: Argentina

Honorable Mention – Actor

Julian Roman (“Retratos En Un Mar Der Mentiras”)
Country: Colombia

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox