Back to IndieWire

Rhode Island Fest Announces Winners

Rhode Island Fest Announces Winners

The 2010 Flickers: Rhode Island International Film Festival (RIIFF) have announced the winners in this year’s film competition.

“It’s simply been a sensational year for us,” said RIIFF Executive Director George T. Marshall, “We had films screened from all over the world along with many of the filmmakers in attendance. This year the festival registered more than 240 filmmakers from 51 different countries.”

The festival ran August 10th-15th and showcased over 200 cinematic works, including 35 World and 23 US/North American Premieres. For the first time, the Festival’s Opening Night festivities took place at the VMA Arts & Cultural Center, the 1,900-seat theater located in the heart of downtown Providence.

At the ceremony, the festival presented a Creative Vision Award to Jonathon Katz, while the festival also paid tribute to the work of local artists and entrepreneurs Jon and Betty Jane Berberian by presenting them with the George M. Cohan Ambassador Award for their long-time stewardship and preservation of the historic Columbus Theater on Broadway in Providence.

A complete list of additional winners after the jump.


BEST SHORT GRAND: Toute Ma Vie (The Story Of My Life) Directed by Pierre Ferriere FRANCE, 2009

First: Sometimes The Moon Is Velvet Directed by Tom Phillips United Kingdom, 2010

Tied with: Natural Selection Directed by Brett Foraker UNITED KINGDOM, 2009

Second: some boys don’t leave Directed by Maggie Kiley U S A, 2009

BEST FEATURE: GRAND: Norman Directed by Jonathan Segal U S A, 2010

First: Cup Cake Directed by Colin McIvor Ireland/United Kingdom, 2010

BEST FEATURE DOCUMENTARY: GRAND: Afghanistan: Defying Silence Directed by Stacia Teele & Ed Robbins U S A / Afghanistan, 2009

First: Hugh Hefner: Playboy, Activist and Rebel Directed by Brigitte Berman Canada, 2010

Tie: Bhutto Directed by Duane Baughman U S A, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, 2010

Second: Blau Jeans Directed by Meaghan Kimball U S A / Germany, 2009

BEST DOCUMENTARY SHORT GRAND: One Thousand Pictures RFK’s Last Journey Directed by Jennifer Stoddart U S A/United Kingdom, 2009

Tied with White Lines and The Fever: The Death of DJ Junebug Directed by Travis Senger U S A, 2010

First: Rose Murray: Portrait of a Photographer Directed by Aart Kramer Netherlands, U S A / France, Jamaica, 2010

Tied with: De L’eau Glacee Dans Les Veines (Ice Water in the Veins) Directed by Cimon Charest Canada, 2010

DIRECTORIAL DISCOVERY AWARD: GRAND: The Pond Directed by Dan Hannon U S A, 2010

First: Vivre, jusqu’au bout … (Live, ’til the end) Directed by Vincent Plaidy France, 2010

Tied With The Seminarian Directed by Joshua Lim U S A, 2010

INTERNATIONAL DISCOVERY AWARD: GRAND: Le bonheur de Pierre (A Happy Man) Directed by Menard Robert Canada, 2009

First: White Buffalo Directed by Gabriel Pac United Kingdom, 2010

Tied With Reunited Directed by Richard Peters U S A, 2010

BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY GRAND: Kinshasa Symphony Directed by: Claus Wischmann & Martin Baer Germany / Congo, 2009

First: Wenn Baeume Puppen tragen (If trees carry dolls) Directed by Ismail Sahin Germany / Tanzania, 2010

Tie: Piano Fingers Directed by Nicholas Carmen 25 min. U S A, 2010

STUDENT FILMMAKER AWARD: GRAND: Signal Directed by Chris Farrington U S A, 2010

First: Perista Directed by Kim Weiner USA 2010

RIIFF DIRECTOR’S CHOICE AWARD Queen of the Sun Directed by Taggart Siegel U S A / Australia, France, Germany, Italy, New Zealand, Switzerland, United Kingdom, 2010

The Bag Directed by Ray Nomoto Robison Written by and starring Marlyn Mason USA, 2010

RIIFF INTERNATIONAL AMBASSADOR AWARD Just Like Us Directed by Ahmed Ahmed Egypt, Kuwait, Lebanon, Saudi Arabia, U S A, United Arab Emirates, 2010

“HELPING HAND” INTERNATIONAL HUMANITARIAN AWARD Given annually to a film or filmmaker that inspires social change, community outreach and a better understanding of the world in which we live I Know a Woman Like that Directed by Elaine Madsen U S A, 2009

PROVIDENCE FILM FESTIVAL GRAND: Old House Soul Directed by Don Manley & Michel Schtakleff U S A, 2010

First: One Shoe Blues Directed by Sandra Boynton U S A, 2009

BEST EDITING: GRAND: Boy Wonder Directed by Michael Morrissey, Edited by Ray Hubley U S A, 2010

First: Day Before Yesterday Directed by Patricia Chica; Edited by Joe Bohot Canada, 2009

BEST SCREENPLAY: GRAND: Ten Stories Tall Written and Directed by David Garrett U S A, 2009

First: Little Rock Directed by Mike Ott Screenplay: Mike Ott, Atsuko Okatsuka, Carl McLaughlin USA, 2010

BEST EXPERIMENTAL: GRAND: TUB Directed by Bobby Miller U S A, 2009

First: The Chronoscope Directed by Andrew Legge Ireland, 2009

ALTERNATIVE SPIRIT AWARD: GRAND: Gen Silent Directed by Stu Maddox U S A, 2010

First: Bedfellows Directed by Pierre Stefanos U S A, 2010

Tied with: Loop Planes Directed by Robin Wilby U S A, 2010

Second: Agnes Moorehead is God! Directed by Tanya Meronk U S A, 2008

BEST SOUNDTRACK: Das Beethoven-Projekt – Eine Musikdokumentation mit Paavo Jaervi und der Deutschen Kammerphilharmonie Bremen (The Beethoven Project – A Music Documentary with Paavo Jaervi and the Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen) Directed by Christian Berger Estonia/Germany, 2010

BEST ORIGINAL MUSICAL COMPOSITION (SCORE): GRAND: Sudden Death! Directed by Adam Hall Kenny Wood, Original Music/Composer U S A, 2010

KIDSEYE INTERNATIONAL FILM FESTIVAL KidsEye (Films Made for Kids): GRAND: The Gruffalo Directed by Max Lang & Jakob Schuh United Kingdom, 2009

First: The MisInventions of Milo Weatherby Directed by William Whirity U S A, 2009

BEST COMEDY SHORT GRAND: The Man Who Married Himself Directed by Garrick Hamm United Kingdom, 2010

First: F-Art Directed by Nicole Sudhaus U S A, 2010

Tied with Mama always told him Directed by Annabel Osborne Australia, 2010

Second: gayby Directed by Jonathan Lisecki U S A, 2010

BEST ANIMATION: GRAND: The Mouse That Soared Directed by Kyle Bell U S A, 2009

First: A Lost and Found Box of Human Sensation Directed by Stefan Leuchtenberg & Martin Wallner GERMANY, 2010

Tied with: Zero Directed by Christopher Kezelos Australia, 2009

Second: Skylight Directed by David Baas Canada, 2009

BEST ACTING: Adam Goldberg Norman Directed by Jonathan Segal U S A, 2010

VORTEX SCI-FI & FANTASY: ONE HUNDRED MORNINGS Directed by Conor Horgan Ireland, 2009

HORROR FILM AWARD Remission Directed by Greg Ivan Smith U S A, 2009

FILMMAKER OF THE FUTURE AWARD 2AM Directed by Joseph Procopio Canada, 20

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Uncategorized and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox