Back to IndieWire

Sundance Picks Participants for Creative Producing Labs

Sundance Picks Participants for Creative Producing Labs

Continuing its support for independent producers in feature film and documentary, the Sundance Institute announced participants for a series of initiatives. Coming this month is the Feature Film Creative Producing Lab, a five-day Lab for narrative feature film producers, designed to develop a producer’s creative instincts in all stages of film production. The Fellows and projects slated to take advantage of the lab are: Amy Lo (“Americano”), Kyle Martin (“Bluebird”), Adele Romanski (“Ella Walks the Beach”), Alicia Van Couvering (“Nobody Walks”) and Jennifer Cochis (“The West Memphis Three”).

Another related lab is the Documentary Film Creative Producing Lab, a four-day lab for documentary film producers. The selected producers were chosen from a pool of Sundance Documentary Film Program grantees. Producers Jennifer Arnold, Meredith Blake and sales agent Josh Braun will serve as the Creative Advisers to the lab. The four Fellows and projects chosen are: Michael L. Brown (“25 to Life”), Dara Kell and Christopher Nizza (“Dear Mandela”), Megan Gelstein (“Green Shall Overcome”), and Rachel Libert and Tony Hardmon (“Semper Fi: Always Faithful”).

Each Fellow is promised ongoing creative and strategic support throughout the year from industry mentors and the Feature Film and Documentary Program staffs. Following the Labs, a wider group of Sundance Institute-supported projects will be invited to join the Fellows for the Creative Producing Summit, that takes place August 20-22. The three-day summit connects 40 independent filmmakers with 20 top film industry professionals, producers, distributors and directors. This year, Netflix Founder and CEO Reed Hastings will be on hand to give the keynote address. Other panelists will include Michael Barker (Sony Pictures Classics), Arianna Bocco (IFC), Meredith Blake (Cause & Affect); Peter Broderick (Paradigm Consulting), Craig Emanuel (Loeb & Loeb LLP), Marian Koltai-Levine (PMK/BNC), Charlotte Mickie (E1 Entertainment), Ted Mundorff (Landmark Theaters), Josh Radnor (on behalf of SAGIndie), filmmakers Jennifer Arnold and Heather Rae, John Sloss (Cinetic Media), and Graham Taylor (William Morris Endeavor).

“As with all the artists we support, independent producers are in critical need of resources, mentoring and an environment to brainstorm creatively in order to navigate the changing currents of the film industry,” said Keri Putnam, Executive Director, Sundance Institute. “We are grateful to the veteran leaders and trailblazers alike who are lending their time and expertise to the next group of talented independent producers.”

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox