Back to IndieWire

Danny Boyle the Toast of BFI’s Upcoming London Film Fest

Danny Boyle the Toast of BFI's Upcoming London Film Fest

A number of fall festival favorites, including Darren Aronofsky’s “Black Swan,” Mike Leigh’s “Another Year,” Tom Hooper’s “The King’s Speech,” and Danny Boyle’s “127 Hours,” have all made the cut for the British Film Institute’s (BFI) shortlist for their Best Film Award, to be dolled out at this year’s BFI London Film Festival (October 13 – 28). Even if Boyle doesn’t walk away with the night’s top award, he is guaranteed to not walk away empty handed, as he was announced as the recipient of the BFI’s highest accolade, the BFI Fellowship. Boyle will collect the award on October 27.

Boyle, whose “127 Hours” closes this year’s festival, said of the news: “A significant helping of humility is called for in the face of this honor and that is not difficult considering those awarded it before. I am shocked, flattered and delighted to receive the Fellowship on behalf of everyone who has helped me make the films, the successful ones and the not so successful ones, and on behalf of all runts in every litter.”

In addition to the Best Film Award, shortlists for Best British Newcomer, the Grierson Award for Best Documentary, and The Sutherland Award were also made public today, along with their respective juries.

Michael Winterbottom, on tap to jury the aforeomentioned Sutherland Award, which is presented to the director of the most original and imaginative feature debut in the fesitval, said of the BFI event: “Film festivals are hugely important events for filmmakers and the London Film Festival is one of the biggest and best. It’s very exciting to get a chance to watch films by new directors from all over the world.”

Below is the full list of all films that made it onto the shortlists:

Best Film Award

“127 Hours,” Danny Boyle, UK/U.S.
“Another Year,” Mike Leigh, UK
“Archipelago,” Joanna Hogg, UK
“Black Swan,” Darren Aronofsky, U.S.
“How I Ended This Summer,” Alexei Popogrebsky, Russia
“The King’s Speech,” Tom Hooper, UK/Australia
“Meek’s Cutoff,” Kelly Reichardt, U.S.
“Never Let Me Go,” Mark Romanek, UK
“Of Gods and Men,” Xavier Beauvois, France
“The Sleeping Beauty,” Catherine Breillat, France
Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives,” Apitchatpong Weerasethakul, Thailand/UK/France/Germany/Spain

The Grierson Award for Best Documentary

“Armadillo,” Janus Metz, Denmark
“Benda Bilili!,” Renaud Barret and Florent de la Tullaye, France
“Circo,” Aaron Schock, Mexico/U.S.
“Maria and I,” Félix Fernández de Castro, Spain
“The Peddler,” Eduardo De La Serna, Lucas Marcheggiano and Adriana Yurcovich, Argentina
“Pink Sarris,” Kim Longinotto, UK/India
“The Tillman Story,” Amir Bar-Lev, U.S.
“Waste Land,” Lucy Walker, UK/Brazil

The Sutherland Award shortlist was already previously announced.

To learn more on the festival, visit their homepage.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox