Back to IndieWire

Samuel Goldwyn Writing Awards Finalists and Judges Announced

Samuel Goldwyn Writing Awards Finalists and Judges Announced

The five finalists and judges for the 2010 Samuel Goldwyn Writing Awards were made public by The Samuel Goldwyn Foundation yesterday. The finalists each submitted feature-length screenplays, and were chosen from a field of more than 200 submissions from eight California campuses. The $15,000 first prize, $7,500 second prize, $4,000 third prize, $2,000 and $1,000 honorable mentions will be awarded on Monday, November 1, at UCLA.

This year’s judges for the 55th edition are: Richard Green, Agent, CAA; Elizabeth Guider, Editor, The Hollywood Reporter; and Hutch Parker, Chairman, Regency Entertainment.

The five finalists are listed below:
Branden Cahn, “Burnt Bridges of Cartwright”
Ryan Finnerty, “Short Stories”
Meg Gifford, “Paint it Black”
Matt Wheeler, “How to Leave Your Lover”
Owen Donovan Yarde, “Hit and Run”

“We are enormously proud to have been associated with the Samuel Goldwyn Writing Awards throughout its distinguished 55-year history,” said Teri Schwartz, Dean of UCLA’s School of Theater, Film and Television. “As entertainment professionals and educators, we know that everything starts with a story. We applaud the outstanding support that the Goldwyn Foundation has extended to the entire UC system, and thank them for their vision to help nurture and develop the next generation of writers.”

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Uncategorized and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox