Back to IndieWire

Academy’s New Batch of Screenwriting Fellows

Academy's New Batch of Screenwriting Fellows

Five writers have been selected from a pool of 6,304 scripts as winners of the 25th annual Don and Gee Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting, on behalf of the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences (AMPAS). Each writer will receive a $30,000 prize, with recipients receiving the first installment at a gala dinner in Beverly Hills on November 4. Winners this year are Destin Daniel Cretton, Marvin Krueger, Andrew Lanham, Micah Ranum, and Cinthea Stahl. Each fellow is expected to complete a feature-length screenplay within a year.

A total of 113 fellowships have been awarded since the program’s inception in 1985. Fellows who have emerged successful include “Secretariat” scribe Mike Rich, Susannah Grant, who earned an Oscar nomination for penning “Erin Brockovich,” and “City Island” writer Raymond De Felitta.

Final judging this year was conducted by the Nicholl Committee, chaired by producer Gale Anne Hurd, and composed of writers Naomi Foner, Daniel Petrie, Jr., Tom Rickman and Dana Stevens; actor Eva Marie Saint; cinematographers John Bailey and Steven B. Poster; executive Bill Mechanic; producers Peter Samuelson and Robert W. Shapiro; and agent Ronald R. Mardigian.

This year’s winners and their respective projects are listed below:

Destin Daniel Cretton, San Diego, Calif., “Short Term 12”
Marvin Krueger, North Hollywood, Calif., “And Handled with a Chain”
Andrew Lanham, Austin, Texas, “The Jumper of Maine”
Micah Ranum, Beverly Hills, Calif., “A Good Hunter”
Cinthea Stahl, North Hollywood, Calif., “Identifying Marks”

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox