Back to IndieWire

AFI FEST Sets Young Americans and New Auteurs

AFI FEST Sets Young Americans and New Auteurs

AFI FEST 2010 has set its programs for both its first-ever Young Americans section and the New Auteurs section, with a wide variety of festival favorites in the mix, from Robert Mitchell’s “The Myth Of The American Sleepover ” to Xavier Dolan’s “Heartbeats” to recent Reykavik International Film Festival winners “Littlerock,” from Mike Ott, and Michelangelo Frammartino’s “The Four Times.”

“The films in the Young Americans program show us that there are independent filmmakers with strong voices who are making films all over the country,” said Jacqueline Lyanga, Festival Director of AFI FEST, in a statement. “We’re celebrating American cinema and its regional voices, with a program of independent films that take us on a cinematic tour of America.”

“We’ve enjoyed our worldwide search for strong, independent voices for the New Auteurs section,” added Lane Kneedler, Associate Director of Programming at AFI FEST. “This section showcases new international filmmakers who are pushing themselves to the edge and experimenting with powerful cinema.”

Additionally the festival announced that free tickets will be made available to the general public on October 28; AFI members will have advance access to free tickets on October 27. They also explained that one film in each of the following film sections will receive an Audience Award this year at AFI FEST: New Auteurs, Young Americans, World Cinema and Breakthrough, the latter which highlights films discovered solely through the submission process and is accompanied by a $5,000 cash prize.

AFI FEST 2010 will take place in Hollywood, California from November 4-11, 2010. A complete list of freshly announced titles is listed below.

The Young Americans Section

Aardvark (New York City): Dir/Scr Kitao Sakurai. USA/Argentina. North American Premiere.

Littlerock (California): Dir/Scr Mike Ott. USA

The Myth Of The American Sleepover (Detroit): Dir/Scr David Robert Mitchell. USA

Putty Hill (Baltimore, Md.): Dir/Scr Matt Porterfield. USA

Some Days Are Better Than Others (Portland, Ore.): Dir/Scr Matt Mccormick. USA

Two Gates Of Sleep (Louisiana): Dir/Scr Alistair Banks Griffin. USA U.S. Premiere.

The New Auteurs Section

Adrienn Pál (Pál Adrienn): Dir Ágnes Kocsis. Scr Ágnes Kocsis, Andrea Roberti. Hungary/Netherlands/Austria/France. U.S. Premiere.

Bedevilled: Dir Cheol-Soo Jang. Scr Choi Gwang-Young. South Korea.

Heartbeats (Les Amours Imaginaires): Dir/Scr Xavier Dolan. Canada.

Le Quattro Volte: Dir/Scr Michelangelo Frammartino. Italy/Germany/Switzerland.

Morgen: Dir/Scr Marian Crisan. Romania/France/Hungary. U.S. Premiere.

Nothing’s All Bad (Smukke Mennesker): Dir/Scr Mikkel Munch-Fals. North American Premiere.

Pulsar: Dir/Scr Alex Stockman. Belgium.

Shit Year: Dir/Scr Cam Archer. USA

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox