Back to IndieWire

Banksy, “Waste Land” Among IDA Documentary Award Nominees

Banksy, "Waste Land" Among IDA Documentary Award Nominees

The International Documentary Association has announced the nominees for the 2010 IDA Documentary Awards today, with Banksy’s “Exit Through The Gift Shop,” Laura Poitras’ “The Oath,” Joonas Berghaell and Mika Hotakainen’s “Steam of Life,” Ilisa Barbash and Lucien Castaing-Taylor’s ‘Sweetgrass,” and Lucy Walker’s “Waste Land” making the list for the awards’ top category. Winners will be feted on December 3rd at the Directors Guild Theater in Los Angeles at a ceremony hosted by award-winning documentary filmmaker Morgan Spurlock.

“This has been another banner year for documentary films,” said IDA Executive Director Michael Lumpkin, in a statement, “and that is reflected in our list of nominees. Entries to the Awards increased by nearly 20% this year, and the quality of the films vying for recognition is unprecedented.”

Lumpkin also announced that for the first time two of the awards – for Distinguished Feature and Short Documentary – will be selected by IDA’s members through a process in which members who wish to participate will view all of the nominated films in these categories through a secure, password-protected online system. After viewing all of the films in their entirety, these IDA member judges will cast their votes to determine the winners.

In addition to competitive awards for the year’s current crop of outstanding documentaries, IDA also acknowledges exemplary creative contributions to the field at large. Jeff Malmberg, director of the one of the year’s most celebrated films, “Marwencol,” will receive the 2010 IDA/Jacqueline Donnet Emerging Documentary Filmmaker Award.

As previously announced, this year’s IDA Career Achievement honoree, to be celebrated during December’s event, is legendary and innovative filmmaker Barbara Kopple. Susan Raymond and Alan Raymond, creators of the landmark PBS series “An American Family,” will receive IDA’s Pioneer Award, and award-winning filmmaker and film professor Mark J. Harris will receive IDA’s Preservation and Scholarship Award.

Eligibility requirements for the Awards were simplified this year and are now based on time of completion of the film or program. The change resulted in an eligibility window of January 1, 2009 to June 30, 2010 for this year’s Awards. The 2011 Awards eligibility window will be July 1, 2010 through June 30, 2011. Last year, “Anvil! A History of Anvil” led the awards’ winners.

2010 IDA Documentary Awards

Distinguished Feature Documentary Nominees

“Exit Through The Gift Shop”
Director: Banksy
Producer: Jaimie D’cruz
Executive Producers: Holly Cushing, James Gay-Rees
Paranoid Pictures, Cinetic Media, A-Film Distribution, Alamode Film, Avalon Distribucion Audiovisual, Mongrel Media, Producers Distribution Agency, Revolver Entertainment, Madman Entertainment

“The Oath”
Director: Laura Poitras
Producers: Laura Poitras
Co-Producer: Nasser Arrabyee, Aliza Kaplan, Jonathan Oppenheim
Associate Producer: Robert Hatch-Miller, Katy Scoggin, Pandora Zolotor
Itvs, Pov/American Documentary, Praxis Films, Zeitgeist Films

“Steam Of Life”
Directors: Joonas Berghaell, Mika Hotakainen
Producer: Joonas Berghaell
Associate Producers: Adel Kjellstroem, Petri Rossi
Oktober, Nordisk Film Theatrical Distribution

Directors: Ilisa Barbash, Lucien Castaing-Taylor
Producers: Ilisa Barbash
Harvard Sensory Ethnography Lab, Cinema Guild

“Waste Land”
Director/Writer: Lucy Walker
Producers: Angus Aynsley, Hank Levine
Executive Producers: Jackie De Botton, Miel De Botton, Fernando Meirelles, Emillia Mello
Almega Projects, O2 Filmes, E1 Films Canada, Arthouse Films

Distinguished Short Documentary Nominees

“Keep Dancing”
Director: Greg Vanderveer
Executive Producer: Douglas Blair Turnbaugh
Turnbaugh/Vander Veer Productions

“The Last Campaign Of Governor Booth Gardner”
Director: Daniel Junge
Producer: Henry Ansbacher, Davis Coombe, Andy Schocken
Home Box Office (HBO)

“Woman Rebel”
Director/Producer: Kiran Deol
Executive Producer: Robert Richter
Women Rebel Films, Hbo Documentary Films

“The Fence”
Director/Producer: Rory Kennedy
Producers: Liz Garbus, Keven Mcalester, Nancy Abraham
Associate Producer: Lauren Barker
Executive Producer: Sheila Nevins
Moxie Firecracker Films, Home Box Office (HBO)

“The Last Truck”
Directors/Writers/Producers: Steven Bognar, Julia Reichert
Producer: Lisa Heller
Executive Producer: Sheila Nevins
Home Box Office (HBO)

Continuing Series Award Nominees

“30 For 30”
Executive Producers: Keith Clinkscales, John Dahl, Joan Lynch, Connor Schell, Bill Simmons, John Skipper, John Walsh

“American Experience”
Executive Producer: Mark Samels
Senior Producer: Sharon Grimberg
Coordinating Producer: Susan Mottau
Series Manager: James E. Dunford
Series Producer: Susan Bellows
Wgbh; PBS

“Art In The Twenty-First Century”
Executive Producer: Susan Sollins
Series Producer: Eve-Laure Moros Ortega

“Brick City”
Executive Producer: Evan Shapiro, Forest Whitaker, Lynne Kirby, Mala Chapple, Marc Levin, Mark Benjamin, Sarah Barnett
Sundance Channel

“Wide Angle”
Executive Producer: Tom Casciato
Senior Producer: Nina Chaudry

Limited Series Award Nominees

“Affliction Series: Culture And Mental Illness In Indonesia”
Director, Producer: Robert Lemelson
Elemental Productions

“Have You Heard From Johannesburg”
Directors/Producers: Connie E Field
Kqed, Clarity Films

“Latin Music USA”
Executive Producer: Mark Cooper, Elizabeth Deane
Series Producer: Jeremy Marre
Director/Producers: Adriana Bosch, John Valadez
Director/Writer/Producer: Daniel Mccabe
Producer: Pamela Aguilar
Writers: Adriana Bosch, David Espar
Wgbh Educational Foundation And The Bbc

Executive Producer: Lin Arison
Director/Producer: Karen Goodman, Kirk Simon
Simon And Goodman Picture Co

“This Emotional Life”
Executive Producer: Meredith Blake
Executives-In-Charge: Jody Allen Patton, Paul G. Allen
Senior Executive Producer: Richard Hutton
Writer: Cynthia Scheiderer
Kunhardt Mcgee Productions, Vulcan Productions, Wgbh

IDA/David L. Wolper Student Documentary Award Nominees

“Little Mom”
Director/Producer: Maria Fortiz-Morse
Stanford University, Mfa Documentary Film And Video

“Perry County”
Directors/Producers: Matt Durning, N’jeri Eaton
University Of California Berkeley

“The Stinking Ship”
Director/Producer: Bagassi Koura
University Of California Berkeley

“Waiting For A Train: The Toshio Hirano Story”
Director/Producer: Oscar Buchar
Ob3 Studios, San Francisco State University

“Whales Of Gold”
Director/Producer: Lucia Duncan
University Of Texas At Austin

IDA Music Documentary Award Nominees

“For Once In My Life”
Directors: Mark Moormann, Jim Bigham
Producer: Jim Bigham
Executive Producer: Lourdes Little
Ops Inc

“Genius Within: The Inner Life Of Glenn Gould”
Directors/Producers: Michele Hozer, Peter Raymont
White Pine Pictures, Lorber Films, Union Pictures

“The Topp Twins: Untouchable Girls”
Director: Leanne Pooley
Producer: Arani Cuthbert
Spacific Films, Diva Productions

“Thunder Soul”
Director/Producer: Mark Landsman
Producer: Keith Calder, Jessica Wu
Ocuupant Films

“When I Rise”
Director: Mat Hames
Producers: James Moll, Michael Rosen,
Executive Producer: Don Carleton
Allentown Productions, Alpheus Media, Dolph Briscoe Center For American History

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox