You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

“Colony” &”Eighteen” Take Inaugural Anaheim Fest Honors

"Colony" &"Eighteen" Take Inaugural Anaheim Fest Honors

Carter Gunn’s and Ross McDonnell’s “Colony” and Jang Kun-jae’s “Eighteen” took top nods at the inaugural Anaheim International Film Festival, sharing the event’s Grand Jury Prize for Best Feature Film. Also taking home jury prizes were Luke Matheny’s “The God of Love” and Andrew Ruhemann’s and Shaun Tan’s “The Lost Thing” named as the Grand Jury Prize winners for Best Live Action Short Film and Best Animation Short Film, respectively.

In the Audience Award categories, David Brooks “The Yankles” won for Best Live Action Feature, Kevin Tostado’s “Under the Boardwalk: The Monopoly Story” received Best Documentary, and Maroru Hosoda’s “Summer Wars” won Best Animation Feature. The Audience Award winner for Best Live Action Short Film was Pierre Stefanos’ “Bedfellows,” while Max Lang’s and Jacob Schuh’s “The Gruffalo” was the Audience Award winner for Best Animation Short.

“In our first year, we were very pleased to have been able to offer Anaheim and Orange County audiences such a wonderful selection of films from around the world that ran the gamut from comedy to drama, narrative to documentary, live-action to animation, as well as launch a phenomenally successful New Media Expo and Market as a strong component of the film festival,” commented AIFF executive director Jo Moulton in a statement. “In many ways, this film festival exceeded many of our own hopes and ambitions and we all look forward to raising the stakes for next year.”

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox