Back to IndieWire

Film Independent’s New 33 for Their Mentorship Program

Film Independent's New 33 for Their Mentorship Program

Film Independent has selected its 33 filmmakers for its annual diversity mentorship program, Project: Involve, dedicated to fostering the careers of filmmakers from communities traditionally underrepresented in the film industry. Running from October through June, the program has the selected participants create a short film, receive one-on-one film industry mentors, gain access to production-based master workshops taught by top film professionals, and receive career development training. On the docket for 2011’s mentors and guest speakers are: writer/directors Mark Romanek, Scott Frank, writers Michael Elliot, Ligiah Villalobos, editor Augie Robles and many more.

“The filmmakers selected for this year’s program are a remarkable group of rising talent, and we’re looking forward to seeing the short films they produce over the course of the program,” said Josh Welsh, Film Independent’s Director of Talent Development in a statement. “We’re also incredibly appreciative of our Project:Involve mentors and guest speakers, who give so generously of their time and expertise.”

Once completed the nine month project, participants will become Film Independent Fellows, recieving year-round support including access to Film Independent’s annual film education offerings.

Below are the names of the 33 participants:

Natalie Arps-Bumbera, Industry Track/Development

Natasha Atalla, Producer

Ebyan Bihi, Industry Track/Development

Carmen Cabana, Cinematographer

Frances E. Chang, Producer

Huy Chau, Writer/Director

Eunsoo Cho, Cinematographer

Christopher Chou, Industry Track/Acquisitions & Distribution

Ted Chung, Director

Mercedes Cooper, Industry Track/Marketing

Nausheen Dadabhoy, Cinematographer

Daniel Davila, Writer/Director

Jana Diaz Juhl, Producer

Dalila Droege, Director

Joy Ganes, Producer

Roberto Gudino, Cinematographer

Tani Ikeda, Director

Logan Kibens, Director

Richard Kim, Cinematographer

Raymond Lai, Director

Cristina Malavenda, Editor

Courtney Marsh, Director

Carl Martin, Industry Track/Acquisitions & Distribution

David Martin-Porras, Writer/Director

Tasha Moore, Screenwriter

Anthony Onah, Director

Stacey Parshall Jensen, Screenwriter

Geoffrey Quan, Director

Andres Torres-Vives, Writer/Director

Sandra Varona, Producer

Nicole Vinnola, Producer

Tony Wei, Writer/Director

Lex White, Screenwriter

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox