You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

Godard Will Miss the Academy’s Governors Awards

Godard Will Miss the Academy's Governors Awards

The Academy confirms that filmmaker Jean-Luc Godard will not be making the trek across the pond to attend the November 13 Governor’s Awards at the Kodak Theatre. Last year, when ailing John Calley couldn’t accept the Thalberg award, a heavyweight roster of past winners turned up to honor him, including Steven Spielberg, Dino De Laurentiis, Norman Jewison and Warren Beatty. Who will honor Godard?

Gone are Eric Rohmer, Claude Chabrol, Francois Truffaut, Samuel Fuller, Juliet Berto, Eddie Constantine, Akim Tamiroff, Jean-Claude Brialy, Suzanne Schiffman, Yves Montand, David Newman, Norman Mailer, Burgess Meredith and Jean Seberg. But over the decades Godard worked with an amazing range of international collaborators who are still around. I’d love to see Jeanne Moreau, Jean-Paul Belmondo, Anna Karina, Pierre Rissient, Raoul Coutard. Michel Piccoli, Albert Maysles, D.A. Pennebaker, Barbet Schroeder, Claude Brasseur, Anne-Marie Mieville, Jean-Pierre Leaud, Marina Vlady, Jean-Claude Carriere, Vanessa Redgrave, Gerard Depardieu, Jules Pfeiffer, Robert Benton, Jean-Pierre Gorin, Elliot Gould, Jane Fonda, Isabelle Huppert, Nathalie Baye, Hanna Schygulla, Emmanuelle Seigner, Emmanuelle Beart, Peter Sellars, Woody Allen, Leos Carax, Julie Delpy, Johnny Hallyday, Marianne Faithful, Jane Birkin, Alain Delon, Patti Smith, Mick Jagger, Keith Richards (who has a memoir to promote) or Brigitte Bardot. And director Steven Soderbergh is a huge Godard fan.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced today that, following a two-month-long cordial exchange of correspondence with Academy president Tom Sherak, Jean-Luc Godard has regretfully notified Sherak that he will not be able to attend the November 13th Governors Awards and receive his Honorary Award in person.

He reiterated his thanks for the award,” reported Sherak, “and also sent his good wishes to the other individuals being honored the same night – Kevin Brownlow, Francis Ford Coppola and Eli Wallach – who he refers to as ‘the three other musketeers.’ ”

The November 13 dinner ceremony, which is being produced by Sid Ganis and Don Mischer, will pay tribute to Godard through film clips and commentary by his admirers. The award will be accepted on Godard’s behalf by the Academy and following the event, the Academy will arrange for the Oscar® statuette to be delivered to him in Switzerland.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Uncategorized and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox