Back to IndieWire

Nicholls Fellowship in Screenwriting Winners

Nicholls Fellowship in Screenwriting Winners

The five winners of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences 25th annual Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting are listed below. Each will receive $30,000 (in installments) at a gala dinner on November 4. Of the 6,304 submissions, the Nicholls Committee (made up of chairperson and producer Gale Anne Hurd; writers Naomi Foner, Daniel Petrie, Jr., Tom Rickman and Dana Stevens; actor Eva Marie Saint; cinematographers John Bailey and Steven B. Poster; executive Bill Mechanic; producers Peter Samuelson and Robert W. Shapiro; and agent Ronald R. Mardigian) chose the five winners who will each complete a feature length script during their fellowship year.

Of the 113 fellowships that have been awarded over time, recipients include Oscar nominee Susannah Grant (“The Soloist,” “Erin Brockovich”), Doug Atchison (“Akeelah and the Bee”), Mike Rich (“The Rookie,” “Finding Forrester”), Ehren Kruger (“Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen, The Ring”) and Andrew Marlowe (“Air Force One”), and more.

Destin Daniel Cretton, San Diego, CA, “Short Term 12”

Marvin Krueger, North Hollywood, CA, “And Handled with a Chain”

Andrew Lanham, Austin, TX, “The Jumper of Maine”

Micah Ranum, Beverly Hills, CA, “A Good Hunter”

Cinthea Stahl, North Hollywood, CA, “Identifying Marks.”

[Photo of 2009 Winners courtesy of AMPAS]

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox