Back to IndieWire

Alexandre Desplat’s Scores For ‘Deathly Hallows’ & ‘The King’s Speech’ Hits Stores

Alexandre Desplat's Scores For 'Deathly Hallows' & 'The King's Speech' Hits Stores

Next week, Americans will be getting on planes, trains and automobiles to make the trek back home for Thanksgiving. It’s probably the ugliest travel time of the year, so perhaps a couple of new soundtrack albums will help ease your nerves in the event your flight is delayed.

This week will be a bounty for fans of Alexandre Desplat as his scores for Tom Hooper‘s “The King Speech” and David Yates‘ “Harry Potter & The Death Hallows Part 1” will hit stores, capping off a very busy year for the composer. He also did scores for the HBO Bill Clinton/Tony Blair drama “The Special Relationship,” Stephen Frears‘ comedic lark “Tamara Drewe” and Roman Polanski‘s “The Ghost Writer” (a great, underrated score btw). Desplat has been nominated for an Oscar three times already and we’re sure he’s likely to get another nod this year — our guess is that it will be for either ‘Harry Potter’ or “The Ghost Writer” — but it’s usually a tough field, with familiar names tending to dominate so it will be interesting to see how he fares this awards season. But even without Oscar glory, he recently took home the Composer Of Year Award for the second year running at the World Soundtrack Awards so he can’t be feeling too shabby.

“Harry Potter & The Deathly Hallows” is currently in stores while the disc for “The King’s Speech” will hit shelves on Monday, November 22nd. “The King’s Speech” begins a limited rollout on November 26th and unless you’re living under a rock, you should already know that ‘Deathly Hallows’ opened today and is probably selling out your local multiplex. Full tracklistings after the jump:

Harry Potter & The Deathly Hallows Part 1” Soundtrack Tracklisting

1. Obliviate
2. Snape To Malfoy Manor
3. Polyjuice Potion
4. Sky Battle
5. At The Burrow
6. Harry And Ginny
7. The Will
8. Death Eaters
9. Dobby
10. Ministry Of Magic
11. Detonators
12. The Locket
13. Fireplaces Escape
14. Ron Leaves
15. The Exodus
16. Godric’s Hollow Graveyard
17. Bathilda Bagshot
18. Hermione’s Parents
19. Destroying The Locket
20. Ron’s Speech
21. Lovegood
22. The Deathly Hallows
23. Captured And Tortured
24. Rescuing Hermione
25. Farewell To Dobby
26. The Elder Wand

“The King’s Speech” Soundtrack Tracklisting

1. Lionel and Bertie
2. The King’s Speech
3. My Kingdom, My Rules
4. The King is Dead
5. Memories of Childhood
6. King George VI
7. The Royal Household
8. Queen Elizabeth
9. Fear and Suspicion
10. The Rehearsal
11. The Threat of War
12. Speaking Unto Nations (Beethoven Symphony no 7 – II ) – Terry Davies
13. Epilogue ( Beethoven Piano Concerto no 5 “Emperor” -II ) – Terry Davies

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Uncategorized and tagged , , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox