Back to IndieWire

‘Black Swan’ Soundtrack Featuring Score By Clint Mansell Hits Stores November 30th

'Black Swan' Soundtrack Featuring Score By Clint Mansell Hits Stores November 30th

This writer, to his eternal shame, has something of a tin ear for classical music. Generally speaking, if a piece of music doesn’t have at least one chorus, or is part of a film score, we tend to glaze over a little bit. So it’s a credit to Clint Mansell‘s work on “Black Swan,” which mostly appropriates elements from Tchaikovsky‘s “Swan Lake,” the ballet at the center of the film, that after our screening, we went home and listened to Tchaikovsky fairly solidly for about a week.

Our review’ll run on the week of release, but suffice to say it’s this writer’s favorite film of the year so far, a truly extraordinary piece of work, and Mansell’s score more than lives up to his seminal work with director Darren Aronofsky on “Pi,” “Requiem For A Dream” and “The Fountain,” even if, due to the heavy use of Tchaikovsky, it’s likely to be disqualified from awards contention by most bodies.

The film’s only a few weeks from beginning its rollout, and news comes from Amazon that the score’ll be released, via Sony Masterworks, on November 30th, and is currently available for pre-order, with the film hitting theaters in limited release the following Friday, on December 3rd. Check out the tracklisting after the jump.

“Black Swan” Soundtrack Tracklisting

1. Nina’s
2. Mother Me
3. The New Season
4. A Room Of Her Own
5. A New Swan Queen
6. Lose Yourself
7. Cruel Mistress
8. Power, Seduction, Cries
9. The Double
10. Opposites Attract
11. Night of Terror
12. Stumbled Beginnings…
13. It’s My Time
14. A Swan Is Born
15. Perfection
16. A Swan Song (for Nina)

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Uncategorized and tagged , , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox