You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

“happythankyoumoreplease” Nabs Another Audience Award

"happythankyoumoreplease" Nabs Another Audience Award

Josh Radnor’s “happythankyoumoreplease,” winner of the Audience Award at this year’s Sundance Film Festival, picked up the Audience Favorite Award for Best Narrative at the 2010 Virginia Film Festival, while the documentary equivalent of the award went to Stanley Nelson’s “Freedom Riders.”

Jody Kielbasa, the festival’s director, was hard pressed to decide on a single film to grant the Programmers Award to. Instead, Kielbasa decided to give out Programmers Award prizes to films in each of the Festival’s categories.

“We were thrilled, first of all, at how many of our audience members voted for these awards,” Kielbasa said in a press release. “It shows a tremendous level of engagement with the festival as a whole, which was also represented in our record turnout throughout the weekend. Then on top of this we were surprised at just how close the voting was for these audience awards, many of which were determined by mere percentage points. So, as a nod to the number of truly outstanding films and filmmakers we had at the festival this year, we decided it would be appropriate to offer Programmers Awards in each category.”

“Kawasaki’s Rose,” the new film by Czech filmmaker Jan Hrebejk, won the Programmers Award for Best Narrative, while Greg Jacobs and John Siskel’s “Louder Than a Bomb” won the prize in the documentary section.

The full list of winners from the festival is presented below:

Audience Favorite – Narrative
“happythankyoumoreplease.” Directed by Josh Radnor.

Audience Favorite – Documentary
“Freedom Riders.” Directed by Stanley Nelson.

Audience Favorite – Short Narrative
“Prism.” Directed by Alexandra Miller, Debra Cohen and Dan Quinn.

Audience Favorite – Short Documentary
“That World is Gone: Race and Displacement in a Southern Town.” Directed by Hannah Brown Ayers and Lance Warren.

Programmers Award – Narrative
“Kawasaki’s Rose.” Directed by Jan Hrebejk.

Programmers Award – Documentary
“Louder Than a Bomb.” Directed by Greg Jacobs and John Siskel.

Programmers Award – Short Narrative
“Jesus Comes to Town.” Directed by Kamal John Iskander.

Programmers Award – Short Documentary
“The Enduring Legacy of Pocahontas Island.” Overseen by Tim Reid.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox