Back to IndieWire

Jonny Greenwood’s Score For ‘Norwegian Wood’ Gets A Japanese Release

Jonny Greenwood's Score For 'Norwegian Wood' Gets A Japanese Release

Also Features Three Songs By Can

Fans of Radiohead and guitarist Jonny Greenwood take note. Your next purchase to fill out your completist catalog is likely going to be coming from overseas as Greenwood’s score for Anh Hung Tran‘s “Norwegian Wood” has received a Japanese release.

The film, starring Rinko Kikuchi and Kenichi Matsuyama, and based on the book by Haruki Murakami, is a coming-of-age story told in flashback, spurred by the sitar strings of The Beatles‘ title song. It played at Venice and TIFF to lukewarm reviews, and hits theaters in Japan next month. Like Greenwood’s score for Paul Thomas Anderson‘s “There Will Be Blood,” this piece will also be based on a previously existing work, a composition called “Dogwood” which the musician wrote for the BBC Concert Orchestra and debuted earlier in the year at Maida Vale Studios. The soundtrack is rounded out by three songs by the excellent krautrockers Can.

You head on over to Amazon Japan now to add the disc to your shopping cart. No word yet on a North American release for either the film or soundtrack. Check out the tracklisting after the jump:

“Norwegian Wood” Soundtrack Tracklisting

01. もう少し自分のこと、きちんとしたいの
02. 草原、風、雑木林
03. Mary, Mary, So Contrary – Can
04. また会いに来るからね
05. 時の洗礼を受けていないものを読むな
06. レイコ
07. Bring Me Coffee Or Tea – Can
08. 直子が死んだ
09. いい子だから黙ってて
10. あてもなく歩き回った
11. クォーター・トーン・ブルーム
12. Don’t Turn The Light On, Leave Me Alone – Can
13. 私をとるときは私だけをとってね
14. 激しい幻聴

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Uncategorized and tagged , , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox