Back to IndieWire

“The Ghost Writer” Leads European Film Award Nominations

"The Ghost Writer" Leads European Film Award Nominations

Roman Polanski’s “The Ghost Writer” led the nominations for the 2010 European Film Awards, which were announced at the Seville European Film Festival by the European Film Academy and EFA Productions. The political thriller scored seven nominations, including best film, director, screenplay, cinematography and actor (for Ewan McGregor). In the best film category, “Writer” was joined by Semih Kaplanoglu’s “Honey,” Xavier Beauvois’s “Of Gods and Men” Samuel Maoz’s “Lebanon,” and Juan Jose Campanella ‘s Academy Award winning “The Secret in their Eyes” (which is a Spanish-Argentinian co-production, though it represented Argentina at the Oscars).

Perhaps the most notable aspect of the nominations was the fairly remarkable batch of films absent from the awards’ top category, including Mike Leigh’s “Another Year,” Luca Guadagnino’s “I Am Love,” Giorgos Lanthimos’s “Dogtooth,” Aleksei Popogrebsky’s “How I Ended The Summer,” Olivier Assayas’ “Carlos,” Abbas Kiarostami’s “Certified Copy,” and Sylvain Chomet’s “The Illusionist.” Some of those films picked up nominations in other categories (Assayas got a director nomination, “Summer” got a nomination for cinematography), but others, like “The Certified Copy” and “I Am Love,” were entirely shut out. Their lead actresses Juliette Binoche (“Copy”) and Tilda Swinton (“Love”) are likely to particularly prove controversial oversights in the best actress category, which saw Zrinka Cvitesic (“Na Putu”), Sibel Kekilli (“When We Leave”), Lesley Manville (“Another Year”), Sylvie Testud (“Lourdes”) and Lotte Verbeek (“Nothing Personal”) find nominations.

Last year, Jacques Audiard’s “A Prophet” led the nominations, though Michael Haneke’s “The White Ribbon” ended up winning the top prize.

The complete list of of nominations is below. The winners which will be presented during the Awards Ceremony on December 4th in Tallinn, Estonia.

Nominations for the European Film Awards:

European Film
Bal (Honey)
directed by Semih Kaplanoglu
written by Semih Kaplanoglu & Orcun Koeksal
produced by Semih Kaplanoglu & Johannes Rexin

Des Hommes et Des Dieux (Of Gods and Men)
directed by Xavier Beauvois
written by Etienne Comar & Xavier Beauvois

The Ghost Writer
directed by Roman Polanski
written by Robert Harris & Roman Polanski
produced by Robert Benmussa, Alain Sarde & Roman Polanski

written and directed by Samuel Maoz
produced by Moshe Edery, Leon Edery, David Silber, Uri Sabag, Einat Bickel, Benjamina Mirnik & Illan Girard

El Secreto de Sus Ojos (The Secret in their Eyes)
directed by Juan Jose Campanella
written by Eduardo Sacheri & Juan Jose Campanella
produced by Gerardo Herrero, Mariela Besuievsky & Juan Jose Campanella

Soul Kitchen
directed by Fatih Akin
written by Fatih Akin & Adam Bousdoukos
produced by Fatih Akin & Klaus Maeck

European Director
Olivier Assayas (Carlos)
Semih Kaplanoglu (Honey)
Samuel Maoz (Lebanon)
Roman Polanski (The Ghost Writer)
Paolo Virzi (The First Beautiful Thing)

European Actress
Zrinka Cvitesic (Na Putu)
Sibel Kekilli (When We Leave)
Lesley Manville (Another Year)
Sylvie Testud (Lourdes)
Lotte Verbeek (Nothing Personal)

European Actor
Jakob Cedergren (Submarino)
Elio Germano (La Nostra Vita)
Ewan McGregor (The Ghost Writer)
George Pistereanu (If I Want to Whistle, I Whistle)
Luis Tosar (Cell 211)

European Screenwriter
Jorge Guerricaechevarria & Daniel Monzon (Cell 211)
Robert Harris & Roman Polanski (The Ghost Writer)
Samuel Maoz (Lebanon)
Radu Mihaileanu (The Concert)

Carlo di Palma European Cinematographer Award
Giora Bejach (Lebanon)
Caroline Champetier (Of Gods and Men)
Pavel Kostomarov (How I Ended this Summer)
Baris Oezbicer (Honey)

European Editor
Luc Barnier & Marion Monnier (Carlos)
Arik Lahav-Leibovich (Lebanon)
Herve de Luze (The Ghost Writer)

European Production Designer
Paola Bizzarri & Luis Ramirez (I, Don Giovanni)
Albrecht Konrad (The Ghost Writer)
Markku Paetilae & Jaagup Roomer (The Temptation of St. Tony)

European Composer
Ales Brezina (Kawasaki’s Rose)
Pasquale Catalano (Loose Cannons)
Alexandre Desplat (The Ghost Writer)
Gary Yershon (Another Year)

European Discovery (FIPRESCI Prize)
The Double Hour
If I Want to Whistle, I Whistle
Nothing Personal
When We Leave

European Animated Feature
The Illusionist
Planet 51
Sammy’s Adventures: The Secret Passage

Best European Documentary
Nostalgia for the Light
Steam of Life

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox