You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

“Waste Land” Strikes Gold at IDA Documentary Awards

"Waste Land" Strikes Gold at IDA Documentary Awards

Five films have been named as winners of the International Documentary Association’s 2010 IDA Documentary Awards. The recipients will be honored on December 3rd at a gala held in the Director’s Guild Theater.

Lucy Walker received the IDA Pare Lorentz Award for her film, “Waste Land.” Walker’s film about artist Vik Muniz’s experiences at the world’s largest garbage dump, Brazil’s Jardim Gramacho, has enjoyed success throughout the festival circuit this year. Honorable mention in this category was given to Taggart Siegel and Jon Betz’s “Queen of the Sun: What are the Bees Telling Us?”

Jim Bigham and Mark Moorman were chosen as the recipients of the The IDA Music Documentary Award for their film “For Once in My Life,” a documentary that focuses on a band of musicians with a range of physical and mental disabilities. “Bhutto,” Duane Baughman and Johnny O’Hara’s documentary of the first woman to lead a Muslim nation, was granted the IDA ABCNews VideoSource Award. Laura Poitras’s “The Oath” and “Presumed Guilty” from Roberto Hernández and Geoffrey Smith both tied for the 2010 IDA Humanitas Award.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox