Back to IndieWire

“Aftershock” Sends Waves at Asian Pacific Screen Awards

"Aftershock" Sends Waves at Asian Pacific Screen Awards

“Aftershock,” from Chinese director Xiaogang Feng, was the big winner at the fourth annual Asia Pacific Screen Awards (APSA), picking up the Best Feature Film Award at the awards ceremony held in Queensland, Australia. In addition, “Aftershock” nabbed its lead actor, Chen Daoming, the Best Performance by an Actor award.

President of the International Jury for APSA 2010, Academy-Award winning producer Lord David Puttnam, explained the film’s win in a statement, “Ultimately ‘Aftershock’ won best film because, in my own view, it has everything. It is as good a ‘big’ movie as any I’ve seen from Hollywood in years. It doesn’t disappoint at any level. It has already attracted a huge audience and it has every chance of going on to capture a bigger international audience. It is incredibly moving and, at the same time, it is really an extraordinarily restrained film…and it ends beautifully.”

Another film to win two awards was Lee Chang-don’s “Poetry,” which collected the Best Achievement for Directing and Best Performance by an Actress (for Yun Jung-hee) awards.

For the full list of winners, visit APSA’s website.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox