Back to IndieWire

Details & Release Date For Sonic Youth’s Score For French Thriller ‘Simon Werner A Disparu’

Details & Release Date For Sonic Youth's Score For French Thriller 'Simon Werner A Disparu'

‘Schizophrenia’ Curiously Missing From Upcoming Release’

One of the highlights of this year’s Cannes Film Festival, and a film that has undeservedly been ignored by distributors on this side of the ocean, was Fabrice Gobert‘s directorial debut “Simon Werner A Disaparu” (aka “Lights Out“). The film is a clever drama masquerading as a murder mystery following a group of teenagers chronicling events leading up to the disappearance of the titular character via flashback. We called the film “an insight to the tenuous and intangible qualities of those late sex-obsessed teenage years” with comparisons drawn to Rian Johnson‘s “Brick,” with both films using a high school setting as a backdrop for a genre exercise and to explore the often strange teenage social dynamics.

One of the highlights of the film, and something that helped maintain the picture’s eerie tone was an original score by Sonic Youth. The mostly minimal work kept a constant thrum beneath the surface of the film and Sonic Youth fans are in for a treat as a full soundtrack release will drop digitally on January 25th followed by a physical release on a still to be determined date in February. While we’re excited for this one it seems a little odd that “Schizophrenia,” the Sonic Youth classic that is played multiple times throughout the film, is nowhere to be found. Anyway, for those of you picking up the French DVD release of the film on February 1st, it will come bundled with a bonus EP with a few more cuts from the soundtrack. Full tracklistings of both after the jump as well as a clip from the film featuring some of the score. [TwentyFourBit]

“Simon Werner a Disparu” Soundtrack Tracklisting

01 – “Thème de Jérémie”
02 – “Alice et Simon”
03 – “Les Anges au piano”
04 – “Chez Yves (Alice et Clara)”
05 – “Jean-Baptiste à la fenêtre”
06 – “Thème de Laetitia”
07 – “Escapades”
08 – “La Cabane au Zodiac”
09 – “Dans les bois / M. Rabier”
10 – “Jean-Baptiste et Laetitia”
11 – “Thème de Simon”
12 – “Au Café”
13 – “Thème d’Alice”

Bonus EP Tracklisting

01 – “M. Rabier (aspect)”
02 – “Jean-Baptiste à la fenêtre (aspect)”
03 – “Alice et Clara (aspect)”
04 – “Thème de Jérémie (aspect)”
05 – “Thème de Simon”

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Uncategorized and tagged ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox