Back to IndieWire

“Social Network,” “Carlos” Lead LA Critics

"Social Network," "Carlos" Lead LA Critics

The Los Angeles Film Critics Association have announced their annual awards, with David Fincher’s “The Social Network” and Olivier Assayas’ “Carlos” both doing quite well. Fincher’s film took the prize for best picture, best screenplay, best director (where Fincher tied Assayas), and best score (where Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross tied Alexandre Desplat’s score from “The Ghost Writer”).

“Carlos, meanwhile, tied for best director, won best foreign film, and was runner-up for both best picture and best actor (for Edgar Ramirez).

Acting winners included Colin Firth for “The King’s Speech” and Jacki Weaver for “Animal Kingdom,” both of which seem like likely contenders in the general awards race. But Kim Hye-ja’s win for best actress (for “Mother”), and best supporting actor Niels Arestrup (for “A Prophet”) were both surprises, upsetting the likes of Natalie Portman and Jennifer Lawrence (who was runner-up) in the former, and Christian Bale and Geoffrey Rush (who was runner-up) in the latter.

Meanwhile, “Toy Story 3” added another prize to its growing batch of animated feature wins, and Lixin Fan’s “Last Train Home” deservedly surprised in the best documentary feature category.

Last year, “The Hurt Locker” topped LAFCA’s awards, and went on to win Oscar’s top prize as well.

Full list of announced winners below. Check out a list of all the awards so far this year here.

Best Picture
The Social Network
(Runner-up: Carlos)

Best Actor
Colin Firth, The Kings Speech
(Runner-up: Edgar Ramirez, Carlos)

Best Actress
Kim Hye-Ja, Mother
(Runner-up: Jennifer Lawrence, Winter’s Bone)

Best Supporting Actor
Niels Arestrup, A Prophet
(Runner-up: Geoffrey Rush, The King’s Speech)

Best Supporting Actress
Jacki Weaver, Animal Kingdom
(Runner-up: Olivia Williams, The Ghost Writer)

Best Director
Olivier Assayas, Carlos and David Fincher, The Social Network (tie)

Best Screenplay
The Social Network
(Runner-up: The King’s Speech)

Best Cinematography
Black Swan
(Runner-up: True Grit)

New Generation Award
Lena Dunham, Tiny Furniture

Best Documentary/Non-fiction Film
Last Train Home
(Runner-up: Exit Through The Gift Shop)

Best Foreign-Language Film
(Runner-up: Mother)

Best Animated Film
Toy Story 3
(Runner-up: The Illusionist)

Best Music/Score
The Ghost Writer and The Social Network (tie)

Best Production Design
(Runner-up: The King’s Speech)

Douglas E. Edwards Independent/Experimental Film/Video:
Film Socialism

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox