Back to IndieWire

“Social Network” Tops San Francisco and Toronto Film Critics’ Awards

"Social Network" Tops San Francisco and Toronto Film Critics' Awards

Bringing its tally to 10 best picture prizes, “The Social Network” added two more critics prizes to its mantle late today: The San Francisco Film Critics and the Toronto Film Critics Association. In San Francisco, “Network” won best picture, best adapted screenplay and best director (tied with Darren Aronofsky), while in Toronto, it was an even cleaner sweep: best picture, best director, best screenplay, and acting wins for Jesse Eisenberg and Armie Hammer.

Beyond “Network,” there were some interesting and different decisions. San Francisco went for “Blue Valentine”‘s Michelle Williams for best actress and “Winter’s Bone”‘s John Hawkes for best supporting actor, while Toronto gave “Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives” a best foreign language nod and a runner-up for best picture.

Full list of announced winners for both groups below. Check out a list of all the awards so far this year here, which makes clear “The Social Network”‘s intense domination of most Oscar precursors thus far.

The full list of winners for the 2010 San Francisco Film Critics Circle Awards:

Best Picture
“The Social Network”

Best Director
Darren Aronofsky, “Black Swan” and David Fincher, “The Social Network” (Tie)

Best Original Screenplay
David Seidler, “The King’s Speech”

Best Adapted Screenplay
Aaron Sorkin, “The Social Network”

Best Actor
Colin Firth, “The King’s Speech”

Best Actress
Michelle Williams, “Blue Valentine”

Best Supporting Actor
John Hawkes, “Winter’s Bone”

Best Supporting Actress
Jacki Weaver, “Animal Kingdom”

Best Animated Feature
“Toy Story 3”

Best Foreign Language Film
“Mother” (South Korea)

Best Documentary
“The Tillman Story”

Best Cinematography
Matthew Libatique, “Black Swan”

Marlon Riggs Award for courage & vision in the Bay Area film community
Elliot Lavine–teacher, exhibitor, and repertory curator—for Bay Area programming over the last two decades. His revival of rare archival studio, independent, and exploitation titles has particularly played a major role in the renewed popularity of film noir and pre-Production Code features.

The full list of winners for the 2010 Toronto Film Critics Association Awards:

Best Picture
“The Social Network” (Sony Pictures)
“Black Swan” (Fox Searchlight Pictures) “Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives” (Filmswelike)

Best Actor
Jesse Eisenberg, “The Social Network”
Runners-Up: Colin Firth, “The King’s Speech” James Franco, “127 Hours”

Best Actress
Jennifer Lawrence, “Winter’s Bone”
Runners-Up: Natalie Portman, “Black Swan” Michelle Williams, “Blue Valentine”

Best Supporting Actor
Armie Hammer, “The Social Network”
Runners-Up: Christian Bale, “The Fighter” Geoffrey Rush, “The King’s Speech”

Best Supporting Actress
Hailee Steinfeld, “True Grit”
Runners-Up: Amy Adams, “The Fighter” Melissa Leo, “The Fighter”

Best Director
David Fincher, “The Social Network”
Runners-Up: Darren Aronofsky, “Black Swan” Christopher Nolan, “Inception”

Best Screenplay
“The Social Network”, Written By Aaron Sorkin Based On The Book “The Accidental Billionaires” By Ben Mezrich
Runners-Up: “The King’s Speech”, Written By David Seidler “True Grit”, Written By Joel Coen & Ethan Coen Based On The Novel By Charles Portis

Best First Feature
“Exit Through The Gift Shop”, Directed By Banksy
Runners-Up: “Get Low”, Directed By Aaron Schneider “Monsters”, Directed By Gareth Edwards

Best Animated Feature
“How To Train Your Dragon” (Dreamworks Animation)
Runners-Up: “Despicable Me” (Universal Studios) “Toy Story 3” (Disney•pixar)

Best Foreign-Language Film
“Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives” (Filmswelike)
Runners-Up: “Mother” (Mongrel Media) “Of Gods And Men” (Mongrel Media)

Best Documentary Feature
“Exit Through The Gift Shop” (Mongrel Media)
Runners-Up: “Inside Job” (Mongrel Media) “Marwencol” (Kinosmith Inc.)

Jay Scott Prize For Emerging Talent Writer-Director
Daniel Cockburn (“You Are Here”)

Special Citation to Bruce McDonald, who directed four movies in 2010: “This Movie is Broken,” “Trigger,” “Music from the Big House and “Hard Core Logo 2”

Rogers Best Canadian Film Nominees “Incendies,” directed by Denis Villeneuve “Splice,” directed by Vincenzo Natali “Trigger,” directed by Bruce McDonald

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox