Back to IndieWire

“The Ghost Writer” Sweeps European Film Awards

"The Ghost Writer" Sweeps European Film Awards

Roman Polanski’s “The Ghost Writer” took home six trophies at the 2010 European Film Awards, which were announced tonight at a ceremony in Tallinn, Estonia. The more than 2,300 members of the European Film Academy gave “The Ghost Writer” awards for best film, best director, best screenplay, best actor, best production design, and best composer. Other major winners included Sylvie Testud, who won best actress for “Lourdes,” and Patricio Guzmán’s “Nostalgia for the Light,” which won best documentary.

Last year, Michael Haneke’s “The White Ribbon” won the top prize.

The complete list of winners is below. Check back with indieWIRE for more on the ceremony later.

Winners of the European Film Awards:

European Film 2010
The Ghost Writer, France/Germany/Uk
Directed By Roman Polanski
Written By Robert Harris & Roman Polanski
Produced By Robert Benmussa, Alain Sarde & Roman Polanski

European Director 2010
Roman Polanski For The Ghost Writer

European Actress 2010
Sylvie Testud In Lourdes

European Actor 2010
Ewan McGregor In The Ghost Writer

European Screenwriter 2010
Robert Harris & Roman Polanski For The Ghost Writer

Carlo Di Palma European Cinematographer Award 2010
Giora Bejach For Lebanon

European Editor 2010
Luc Barnier & Marion Monnier For Carlos

European Production Designer 2010
Albrecht Konrad For The Ghost Writer

European Composer 2010
Alexandre Desplat For The Ghost Writer

European Discovery 2010- Prix Fipresci
Lebanon, Israel/Germany/France
Written & Directed By Samuel Maoz
Produced By Moshe Edery, Leon Edery, David Silber, Uri Sabag, Einat Bickel, Benjamina Mirnik & Illan Girard

European Film Academy Documentary – Prix Arte 2010
Nostalgia De La Luz (Nostalgia For The Light), France/Germany/Chile
Directed By Patricio Guzman

European Film Academy Animated Feature Film 2010
The Illusionist By Sylvain Chomet

European Film Academy Short Film 2010
Hanoi – Warszawa (Hanoi – Warsaw), Poland
By Katarzyna Klimkiewicz

European Co-Production Award – Prix Eurimages 2010
Zeynep Oezbatur Atakan, Producer

European Film Academy Lifetime Achievement Award
Bruno Ganz, Actor

European Achievement In World Cinema 2010
Gabriel Yared, Composer

People’s Choice Award For Best European Film 2010
Mr. Nobody
Written And Directed By Jaco Van Dormael
Produced By Philippe Godeau

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox