Back to IndieWire

“Winter’s Bone” Leads San Diego Critics Awards

"Winter's Bone" Leads San Diego Critics Awards

The San Diego Critics Association announced the wins annual awards, and a much needed burst of the unexpected was present, with “Winter’s Bone” becoming the very first film to take a top critic’s prize away from “The Social Network.” Bone also won best actress (Jennifer Lawrence) and best supporting actor (John Hawkes), while Colin Farrell became an out-of-nowhere winner for best actor for his work in “Ondine.”

Full list of announced nominees below, with winners in bold. Check out a list of all the awards so far this year here.

Best Film:
Black Swan
The Fighter
The King’s Speech
The Social Network
Winter’s Bone

Best Director:
Christopher Nolan, Inception
Danny Boyle, 127 Hours
Darren Aronofsky, Black Swan
David Fincher, The Social Network
Debra Granik, Winter’s Bone

Best Actress:
Carey Mulligan, Never Let Me Go
Jennifer Lawrence, Winter’s Bone
Michelle Williams, Blue Valentine
Natalie Portman, Black Swan
Tilda Swinton, I Am Love

Best Actor:
Aaron Eckhart, Rabbit Hole
Colin Farrell, Ondine
Colin Firth, The King’s Speech
James Franco, 127 Hours
Jesse Eisenberg, The Social Network

Best Supporting Actress:
Blake Lively, The Town
Dale Dickey, Winter’s Bone
Jacki Weaver, Animal Kingdom
Lesley Manville, Another Year
Melissa Leo, The Fighter

Best Supporting Actor:
Christian Bale, The Fighter
Geoffrey Rush, The King’s Speech
Jeremy Renner, The Town
John Hawkes, Winter’s Bone
John Hurt, 44 Inch Chest

Best Original Screenplay:
Christopher Nolan, Inception
David Seidler, The King’s Speech
Jesse Armstrong, Sam Bain And Chris Morris, Four Lions
Michael Ardnt, Toy Story 3
Neil Jordan, Ondine

Best Adapted Screenplay:
Aaron Sorkin, The Social Network
Debra Granik & Anne Roselini, Winter’s Bone
Laeta Kalogridis, Shutter Island
Michael Bacall & Edgar Wright, Scott Pilgrim Vs The World
Peter Craig & Ben Affleck & Aaron Stockard, The Town

Best Foreign Language Film:
I Am Love
No One Knows About Persian Cats
The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo

Best Documentary:
A Film Unfinished
Exit Through The Gift Shop
Inside Job
The Tillman Story
Waiting For ‘Superman’

Best Cinematography:
Anthony Dod Mantle & Enrique Chediak, 127 Hours
Eduardo Serra, Harry Potter & The Deathly Hallows: Part 1
Matthew Labatique, Black Swan
Robert Richardson, Shutter Island
Wally Pfister, Inception

Best Animated Film:
Despicable Me
How To Train Your Dragon
The Illusionist
Toy Story 3

Best Editing:
Andrew Weisblum, Black Swan
Angus Wall & Kirk Baxter, The Social Network
Jon Harris, 127 Hours
Jonathan Amos & Paul Machliss, Scott Pilgrim Vs The World
Lee Smith, Inception

Best Production Design:
Dante Ferreti, Shutter Island
Guy Hendrix Dyas, Inception
Robert Stromberg, Alice In Wonderland
Stuart Craig, Harry Potter & The Deathly Hallows: Part 1
Therese De Prez, Black Swan

Best Score:
A. R. Rahman, 127 Hours
Clint Mansell, Black Swan
Danny Elfman, Alice In Wonderland
Rachel Portman, Never Let Me Go
Trent Reznor And Atticus Ross, The Social Network

Best Ensemble Performance:
44 Inch Chest
Another Year
The Fighter
The Social Network
Winter’s Bone

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox