Back to IndieWire

2011 Writers Guild Award Nominations Announced

2011 Writers Guild Award Nominations Announced

The Writers Guild of America have announced nominations for outstanding achievement in writing for the screen during 2010. The announcement comes after the likes of “The King’s Speech,” “Biutiful,” “The Ghost Writer,” “Winter’s Bone,” “Toy Story 3,” “The Way Back,” “Blue Valentine” and “Another Year” all had their scripts disqualified due to the WGA’s controversial rules, which cuts out scripts that don’t follow the guild’s complicated “Minimum Basic Agreement, or the agreements of several affiliated international guilds” (last year, eventual Oscar nominees “An Education” and “Inglourious Basterds” were among those disqualified).

In their place were a few big and generally pleasant surprises, including Nicole Holofcener’s script for “Please Give” making the cut, as well as John Requa & Glenn Ficarra’s screenplay for “I Love You Phillip Morris,” as well as the very expected, like Aaron Sorkin’s “The Social Network” screenplay and Lisa Cholodenko & Stuart Blumberg’s script for “The Kids Are All Right.”

Winners will be honored at the 2011 Writers Guild Awards held on Saturday, February 5, 2011, at simultaneous ceremonies in New York and Los Angeles.

Full list of nominees below. Check out a list of all the awards so far this year here

Original Screenplay

Black Swan
Screenplay by Mark Heyman and Andres Heinz and John McLaughlin; Story by Andres Heinz; Fox Searchlight

The Fighter
Screenplay by Scott Silver and Paul Tamasy & Eric Johnson; Story byKeith Dorrington & Paul Tamasy & Eric Johnson; Paramount Pictures

Written by Christopher Nolan; Warner Bros.

The Kids Are All Right
Written by Lisa Cholodenko & Stuart Blumberg; Focus Features

Please Give
Written by Nicole Holofcener; Sony Pictures Classics

Adapted Screenplay

127 Hours
Screenplay by Danny Boyle & Simon Beaufoy; Based on the book Between a Rock and a Hard Place by Aron Ralston; Fox Searchlight

I Love You Phillip Morris
Written by John Requa & Glenn Ficarra; Based on the book by Steven McVicker; Roadside Attractions

The Social Network
Screenplay by Aaron Sorkin; Based on the book The Accidental Billionaires by Ben Mezrich; Sony Pictures

The Town
Screenplay by Peter Craig and Ben Affleck & Aaron Stockard; Based on the novel Prince of Thieves by Chuck Hogan; Warner Bros.

True Grit
Screenplay by Joel Coen & Ethan Coen; Based on the novel by Charles Portis; Paramount Pictures

Documentary Screenplay

Enemies of the People
Written, Directed, Filmed and Produced by Rob Lemkin and Thet Sambath; International Film Circuit

Freedom Riders
Written, Produced and Directed by Stanley Nelson; International Film Circuit

Written and Directed by Josh Fox; HBO Documentary Films and International WOW Company

Inside Job
Produced, Written and Directed by Charles Ferguson; Co-written by Chad Beck, Adam Bolt; Sony Pictures Classics

The Two Escobars
Written by Michael Zimbalist, Jeff Zimbalist; ESPN Films

Who Is Harry Nilsson (And Why Is Everybody Talkin’ About Him)?
Written and Directed by John Scheinfeld; Lorber Films

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox