Back to IndieWire

Cinema Eye Honors Announce Inaugural “Heterodox Award”

Cinema Eye Honors Announce Inaugural "Heterodox Award"

The Cinema Eye Honors for Nonfiction Filmmaking announced today the five nominees for the first annual Cinema Eye Heterodox Award, a new award category created to honor a narrative film that “imaginatively incorporates nonfiction strategies, content and/or modes of production.”

The five films nominated for the first Heterodox Award are:

Pedro Gonzalez-Rubio’s ALAMAR
Matt Porterfield’s PUTTY HILL
Michelangelo Frammartino’s LE QUATTRO VOLTE

Cinema Eye Honors said that these films “illuminate the formal possibilities of nonfiction filmmaking while raising provocative questions about on-going documentary orthodoxy and the perceived boundaries between narrative and nonfiction filmmaking.”

The films were nominated by the editorial staff of Filmmaker Magazine, a publication of the IFP (which sponsored the award), and chosen from a list of eligible films based on the general criteria for the Cinema Eye Honors but expanded to include two extra festivals that program narratives. The winner will be chosen by a jury of filmmakers and announced at the 2011 Cinema Eye Honors for Nonfiction Filmmaking to be held on January 18, 2011 at the newly re-opened Museum of the Moving Image in Astoria, Queens, New York City. The event will also be broadcast on television for the first time on the Documentary Channel.

“Filmmakers have always been at the forefront of raising important questions about the construction of truth, but the borders between fiction and non-fiction film are both slippery and oft times guarded with provincial and outmoded thinking,” said Cinema Eye Co-Chair Esther Robinson, in a statement. “The Cinema Eye Honors hopes to puncture this border, by honoring a narrative film that best illuminates the beauty and importance of creating new territories of cinema – inhabitable by both fiction and nonfiction films alike.”

Said Scott Macaulay, Filmmaker Magazine Editor, added: “The critic and theorist Walter Benjamin once wrote, ‘All great works of art either dissolve a genre or invent one.’ Filmmaker Magazine is honored to celebrate with Cinema Eye the five narrative films this year that have most adventurously burst through the boundaries separating art and life.”

The jury selecting the final award consists of: filmmaker and POV series producer Yance Ford; Award winning producer Julie Goldman (SERGIO, THE COVE); Academy Award winning director Ross Kaufman (BORN INTO BROTHELS); Academy Award Nominated director Joshua Marston (MARIA FULL OF GRACE) and award-winning director Astra Taylor (ZIZEK!, THE EXAMINED LIFE). The Filmmaker Magazine editors and writers selecting the nominees were: Scott Macaulay, Howard Feinstein, Brandon Harris, Mary Anderson Casavant, Damon Smith and Mike Plante.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox