Back to IndieWire

DGA Nominates Five for Outstanding Doc

DGA Nominates Five for Outstanding Doc

The Directors Guild of America named five nominees for its choice for its “Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Documentaries for the year 2010,” the organization’s president Taylor Hackford unveiled today.

“The best documentary filmmaking provides the audience with the rare opportunity of experiencing a life, a place, or a situation that might otherwise be too remote or too unknown to ever discover on our own,” said Hackford. “The excellent work of our five nominees illuminates, educates and inspires us in extraordinary ways. My congratulations to each of our nominees.”

The winners will be announced at the 63rd Annual DGA Awards Dinner on Saturday, January 29, 2011 at the Grand Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland in Los Angeles.

The nominees for the Directors Guild of America Award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Documentary for 2010 are (in alphabetical order):

Lixin Fan, “Last Train Home
Eye Steel Film, ITVS, Canada
Council for the Arts
Zeitgeist Films
This is Mr. Fan’s first DGA Award nomination.

Charles Ferguson, “Inside Job
Representational Pictures
Sony Pictures Classics
This is Mr. Ferguson’s first DGA Award nomination.

Alex Gibney, “Client 9: The Rise and Fall of Eliot Spitzer
ES Productions
Magnolia Pictures
This is Mr. Gibney’s second DGA Award nomination. He was previously nominated in this same category for “Taxi to the Dark Side” in 2007.

David Guggenheim, “Waiting for “Superman
Public Education LLC
Paramount Vantage
Mr. Guggenheim’s Directorial Team:
Unit Production Manager: Shari Tavey
This is Mr. Guggenheim’s first DGA Award nomination.

Tim Hetherington and Sebastian Junger, “Restrepo
Outpost Films
National Geographic Entertainment
This is the first DGA Award nomination for Mr. Hetherington and Mr. Junger.

The DGA will launch a year-long celebration of the DGA’s 75th anniversary at the DGA Awards on January 29th. Past DGA Award winners Kathryn Bigelow, James Cameron, Francis Ford Coppola, Clint Eastwood, John Rich, Martin Scorsese and Steven Spielberg.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox