Back to IndieWire

No Surprises In 2011 Producers Guild Award Nominations; ‘The Town’ Becoming An Oscar Contender?

No Surprises In 2011 Producers Guild Award Nominations; 'The Town' Becoming An Oscar Contender?

Yawn, another random awards ceremony from yet another industry group, right? Guess again. Last year, when the Academy opened up the Best Picture field to ten nominees, so did the The Producers Guild of America, and nine out of their ten nominees ended up getting Oscar nods as well. So if you’re looking for how the Oscar nods will play out when they’re announced in a few weeks, this is a pretty strong indicator.

That said, there are no real surprises here at all. All the films that have been touted for the Kodak Theater are here including “The Social Network,” “The King’s Speech,” “Inception,” and “Black Swan.” The only film that is raising eyebrows slightly is “The Town,” Ben Affleck‘s gritty Boston-set tale of a bank thief trying to go good. Ever since the film became a box office hit and earned strong notices from critics (and following the very lukewarm reception to Clint Eastwood‘s “Hereafter“) Warner Bros. have made a strong push for the film to sneak into the top ten at the Best Picture race and it looks like it might pay off. The only other head scratcher is “Earth Made Of Glass” in the documentary category; as far as we know it only played the Tribeca film festival but we guess whoever is behind that film hustled the hell out of screeners.

The winners will be announced on Saturday, January 22nd. Full list of nominees below. [IndieWire]

The Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures:

127 HOURS Producers: Danny Boyle, Christian Colson
BLACK SWAN Producers: Scott Franklin, Mike Medavoy, Brian Oliver
INCEPTION Producers: Christopher Nolan, Emma Thomas
THE FIGHTER Producers: David Hoberman, Todd Lieberman, Mark Wahlberg
THE KIDS ARE ALL RIGHT Producers: Gary Gilbert, Jeffrey Levy-Hinte, Celine Rattray
THE KING’S SPEECH Producers: Iain Canning, Emile Sherman, Gareth Unwin
THE SOCIAL NETWORK Producers: Dana Brunetti, Cean Chaffin, Michael De Luca, Scott Rudin
THE TOWN Producers: Basil Iwanyk, Graham King
TOY STORY 3 Producer: Darla K. Anderson
TRUE GRIT Producers: Ethan Coen, Joel Coen, Scott Rudin

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures:

DESPICABLE ME Producers: John Cohen, Janet Healy, Christopher Meledandri
HOW TO TRAIN YOUR DRAGON Producer: Bonnie Arnold
TOY STORY 3 Producer: Darla K. Anderson

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Documentary Theatrical Motion Pictures:

CLIENT 9: THE RISE AND FALL OF ELIOT SPITZER Producer(s): Awaiting final credit determination
EARTH MADE OF GLASS Producers: Reid Carolin, Deborah Scranton
INSIDE JOB Producers: Charles Ferguson, Audrey Marrs
SMASH HIS CAMERA Producers: Linda Saffire, Adam Schlesinger
THE TILLMAN STORY Producer: John Battsek
WAITING FOR ‘SUPERMAN’ Producer: Lesley Chilcott

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox