Back to IndieWire

“True Grit,” “Social Network” Among 25th Annual ASC Award Nominees

"True Grit," "Social Network" Among 25th Annual ASC Award Nominees

The nominations for the 25th Annual American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) Outstanding Achievement Awards were announced this evening. In the feature film category, the five nominated cinematographers are:

Matthew Libatique, “Black Swan”
Wally Pfister, “Inception”
Danny Cohen, “The King’s Speech”
Jeff Cronenweth, “The Social Network”
Roger Deakins, “True Grit”

Cronenweth, Cohen and Libatique are all first time nominees for ASC Awards, while Pfister has been nominated twice previously (for fellow Christopher Nolan collaborations “Batman Begins” and “The Dark Knight”), and Deakins has now received nine nominations in this category. He’s won twice (for “The Shawshank Redemption” and “The Man Who Wasn’t There”), and will also be honored as the recipient of the ASC’s 2011 Lifetime Achievement Award. He’s yet to win an Oscar, which is also the case with his fellow four nominees.

Cohen is definitely the most surprising nominee, as many had pegged Robert Richardson’s work on “Shutter Island” or Enrique Chediak and Anthony Dod Mantle’s work on “127 Hours” to make the cut.

Check out a list of all the announced awards so far this year here.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox