Back to IndieWire

Ann Arbor Film Festival Names Award Winners: “Jan Villa” Wins Ken Burns Best of Fest

Ann Arbor Film Festival Names Award Winners: "Jan Villa" Wins Ken Burns Best of Fest

At the conclusion of the 49th Annual Ann Arbor Film Festival, the fest announced the following award winners for their various awards, which each come with a cash prize. The Michigan festival, around for nearly a half-century, is one of the leading festival venues for experimental work. Jury members for this year’s festival were Stephen Connolly, Rebecca Meyers and Vanessa Renwick.

The complete list of winners follows:

Ken Burns Award Best of the Festival – $3,000
Jan Villa (Natasha Mendonca, 2010)

Stan Brakhage Film at Wit’s End Award – $1,000
Drifter (Timoleon Wilkins, 2010)

Gus Van Sant Award Best Experimental Film – $1,000
In The Absence of Light, Darkness Prevails (Fern Silva, 2010)

Michael Moore Award Best Documentary Film – $1,000

Disorder (Huang Weikai, 2009)

Lawrence Kasdan Award Best Narrative Film – $1,000
Home Movie (Braden King, 2009)

Chris Frayne Award Best Animated Film – $1,000
Hand Soap (Kei Oyama, 2009)

The Barbara Aronofsky Latham Award Emerging Experimental Video Artist – $1,000
I Touched Her Legs (Eva Marie Rødbro, 2010)

Prix DeVarti Funniest Film – $1,000
The Mechanism of Spring (Atsushi Wada, 2010)
In A Pig’ s Eye (Atsushi Wada, 2010)

Art & Science Award – $750
Trypps #7 (Badlands) (Ben Russell, 2010)

Peter Wilde Award Most Technically Innovative Film – $500
These Hammers Don’ t Hurt Us (Michael Robinson, 2010)

autFI LM Award Best LGBT Film – $500
Covered (John Greyson, 2009)

Award for Best Sound Design – $500
Get Out Of The Car (Thom Andersen, 2010)

Kodak/Grace & Wild Imaging Award for Best Cinematography – $3,000
[$1,500 of film plus $1,500 processing]
Castaic Lake (Brigid McCaffrey, 2010)

Tom Berman Award Most Promising Filmmaker – $1,000
Aliki (Richard Wiebe, 2010)

George Manupelli Founder’s Spirit Award – $500
A Family Portrait (Joseph Pierce, 2009)

The Eileen Maitland Award – $500
Hepworth (Alexis Bravos, 2011)

The No Violence Award – $512
Atlantiques (Mati Diop, 2010)

Award for Best International Film – $500
Vargtimmen – After a Scene by Ingmar Bergman (Georg Tiller, 2010)

Award for Best Music Video – $500
I Say Fever (Ramona Falls) (Stefan Nadelman, 2009)

Jury Awards (named by jurors)

The Radiant Grace Award – $550
Little Brother (Callum Cooper, 2010)

The Flood of Love Award – $500

The Florestine Collection (Helen Hill, Paul Gailiunas, 2011)

The Looking and Listening Award – $200 each
Broad Channel (Sarah J. Christman, 2010)
New Year Sun (Jonathan Schwartz, 2010)

The Innie Outie Award – $200
PINK (Soon-Mi Yoo, 2011)

The On the Fly Award – $200
Ray’s Birds (Deborah Stratman, 2010)

The Double Documentary Award – $200

28.IV.81 (Descending Figures) (Christopher Harris, 2011)

The Actuality Award – $200

Make It New, John (Duncan Campbell, 2009)

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox