Back to IndieWire

Aspen Shortsfest Wraps, Doles Out Awards

Aspen Shortsfest Wraps, Doles Out Awards

The 2011 Aspen Shortsfest wrapped up last weekend in Colorado. The big winners were Jean-Claude Rozec’s “Specky Four Eyes,” Christopher Strollery’s “dik,” Robert-Jan Lacombe’s “Goodbye Mandima” and Brent Bonacorso’s drama “West of the Moon.”

Next year, Aspen Shortfest celebrates its 20th anniversary from April 10 – 15, 2012. To check out indieWIRE’s highlights from the festival, click here.

Shortsfest 2011 Awards Winners:

Jury explanations courtesy of Aspen Shortsfest

BEST ANIMATION ($2,500, Oscar®-qualifying award)
“Specky Four Eyes”
(Jean-Claude Rozec, France)
For its excellent marriage of craft and story, as well as its whimsical and imaginative storytelling through a child’s eyes.

BEST COMEDY ($2,500, Oscar®-qualifying award)
(Christopher Stollery, Australia)
For its hysterical, no-holds-barred story that suggests, even in marriage, honesty is not always the best policy.

“Goodbye Mandima”
(Robert-Jan Lacombe, Switzerland)
For its resourceful telling of a deeply personal tale that challenges the traditional documentary style.

BEST DRAMA ($2,500, Oscar®-qualifying award)
“West of the Moon”
(Brent Bonacorso, USA)
For its wildly inventive and captivating singularity of voice and vision.

BEST SHORT SHORT ($1,000, Oscar®-qualifying award)
“Das Tub”
(James Cunningham, New Zealand)
For its creativity, humor, and ability to surprise.

“The Wind is Blowing in my Street”
(Saba Riazi, Iran)
For its courage, subtlety, and authenticity.


“Animal Beatbox”
(Damon Gameau, Australia)
For its unpretentious, enormously fun celebration of the animal kingdom.

“The Lost Thing”
(Andrew Ruhemann and Shaun Tan, Australia)
For its exceptional craft in creating a vibrant world that Salvador Dali would feel comfortable in and for its embrace of all things unusual.

(Max Zähle, Germany/India)
For its terrific performances, enormous scope, and perfect depiction of the color and chaos of India.

“The Screamers”
(Roberto Pérez Toledo, Spain)
For capturing a universally recognized human emotion in the perfect screen minute.

“Yuri Lennon’s Landing on Alpha 46”
(Anthony Vouardoux, Germany/Switzerland)
For its gut-wrenching, compelling depiction of an astronaut who becomes the last man in the universe.

For additional winners click here.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox