Back to IndieWire

Sidney Poitier to Be Honored by Film Society of Lincoln Center, Star Presenters

Sidney Poitier to Be Honored by Film Society of Lincoln Center, Star Presenters

The Film Society of Lincoln Center will present Sidney Poitier with the 38th Annual Chaplin Award on May 2. The list of presenters set to honor Poitier includes Ben Kingsley, Bill Cosby, Chris Tucker, Dan Aykroyd, Danny Glover, Harry Belafonte, James Earl Jones, Lulu, Mary Louise Parker, Morgan Freeman, Norman Jewison, Quincy Jones, Quentin Tarantino and Ruby Dee. Clips from Poitier’s film and television career highlights will be screened during the event.

More information about the Chaplin Award is below:
[Pictured: Poitier making history as the first African American actor to win an Academy Award (for Lillies of the Field) in 1963.]

The Film Society’s Annual Gala began in 1972 and honored Charlie Chaplin – who returned to the US from exile to accept the commendation. Other honorees include many of the film industry’s most notable talents, including Alfred Hitchcock, Billy Wilder, Laurence Olivier, Federico Fellini, Elizabeth Taylor, Bette Davis, James Stewart, Robert Altman, Martin Scorsese, Diane Keaton, Meryl Streep, Tom Hanks and most recently, Michael Douglas.
Tickets, benefiting the Film Society of Lincoln Center include admission to the Gala Tribute and post-celebration reception. For additional information, please go to www.filmlinc.com or call the Gala Hotline, 212.875.5685.
2010 Michael Douglas    1996 Clint Eastwood               1982 Billy Wilder
2009 Tom Hanks            1995 Shirley MacLaine            1981 Barbara Stanwyck
2008 Meryl Streep           1994 Robert Altman                1980 John Huston
2007 Diane Keaton          1993 Jack Lemmon                 1979 Bob Hope
2006 Jessica Lange         1992 Gregory Peck                 1978 George Cukor
2005 Dustin Hoffman        1991 Audrey Hepburn              1975 Joanne Woodward
2004 Michael Caine           1990 James Stewart/Paul Newman 1974 Alfred Hitchcock
2003 Susan Sarandon        1989 Bette Davis                    1973 Fred Astaire
2002 Francis Ford Coppola  1988 Yves Montand               1972 Charles Chaplin

2001 Jane Fonda                 1987 Alec Guinness
2000 Al Pacino                    1986 Elizabeth Taylor
1999 Mike Nichols               1985 Federico Fellini
1998 Martin Scorsese          1984 Claudette Colbert
1997 Sean Connery              1983 Laurence Olivier

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Uncategorized and tagged , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox