Back to IndieWire

Academy Announces 2011 Student Academy Awards Winners

Academy Announces 2011 Student Academy Awards Winners

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences today revealed the winners of their 38th Annual Student Academy Awards competition. Out of the 15 winners, 12 are from the U.S. and three from outside the country. As part of the prize, the filmmakers will be brought to Los Angeles for a week of industry-related activities and social events that will culminate in the awards ceremony on June 11th.

The winners are (listed alphabetically by film title):

Alternative category
“The Vermeers,” Tal S. Shamir, The New School, New York

Animation category
“Correspondence,” Zach Hyer, Pratt Institute, New York
“Defective Detective,” Avner Geller and Stevie Lewis, Ringling College of Art and Design, Florida
“Dragonboy,” Bernardo Warman and Shaofu Zhang, Academy of Art University, California

Documentary category
“Imaginary Circumstances,” Anthony Weeks, Stanford University
“Sin Pais (Without Country),” Theo Rigby, Stanford University
“Vera Klement: Blunt Edge,” Wonjung Bae, Columbia College Chicago

Narrative category
“Fatakra,” Soham Mehta, University of Texas at Austin
“High Maintenance,” Shawn Wines, Columbia University
“Thief,” Julian Higgins, American Film Institute, California

Foreign Student Film category
“Bekas,” Karzan Kader, Stockholm Academy of Dramatic Arts, Sweden
“Raju,” Max Zaehle, Hamburg Media School, Germany
“Tuba Atlantic,” Hallvar Witzo, Norwegian Film School, Norway

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox