Back to IndieWire

Academy Moves Around Governors List, Adds Hurd, Bening, Mazursky

Academy Moves Around Governors List, Adds Hurd, Bening, Mazursky

The board of governors are the real bosses at the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences. They call the shots. They elect the president, who is now Tom Sherak, who oversees the actual Oscar show by hiring the producers and approving the hosts. They approved Sherak’s choice of AMPAS’s new co-chairmen, Dawn Hudson and Ric Robertson, to replace outgoing executive director Bruce Davis, as well as all new members and voting rules.

So four new first-time governors–cinematographer Richard P. Crudo, producer Gale Anne Hurd, composer David Newman and film editor Michael Tronick–are joining this powerful group. Seven governors are staying on to serve on the board: VFX supervisor Craig Barron, actress Annette Bening, sound man Don Hall, art director Jeffrey Kurland, animation exec and director John Lasseter, veteran ex-studio chairman Robert Rehme, and screenwriter Phil Alden Robinson, who is producing the Governors Awards this year.

More details below.

And three other film industry players will return to the board after a time away: documentary and feature director Michael Apted; veteran publicist Cheryl Boone Isaacs; and director Paul Mazursky.

Fourteen of the Academy’s 15 branches are represented by three governors, who may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms. Terms are staggered so that each branch elects or reelects one governor each year. The Makeup Artists and Hairstylists Branch is represented by a single governor.

Governors who were not up for reelection and who continue on the Board are Ed Begley, Jr. and Tom Hanks, Actors Branch; Jim Bissell and Rosemary Brandenburg, Art Directors; John Bailey and Caleb Deschanel, Cinematographers; Kathryn Bigelow and Edward Zwick, Directors; Rob Epstein and Michael Moore, Documentary; Jim Gianopulos and Tom Sherak, Executives; Anne V. Coates and Mark Goldblatt, Film Editors; Leonard Engelman, Makeup Artists and Hairstylists; Bruce Broughton and Charles Fox, Music; Mark Johnson and Hawk Koch, Producers; Rob Friedman and Marvin Levy, Public Relations; Jon Bloom and Bill Kroyer, Short Films and Feature Animation; Curt Behlmer and Kevin O’Connell, Sound; Richard Edlund and Bill Taylor, Visual Effects; and James L. Brooks and Frank Pierson, Writers.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Uncategorized and tagged ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox