Back to IndieWire

Chicago Underground FF Announces 2011 Awards

Chicago Underground FF Announces 2011 Awards

The Chicago Underground Film Festival unveiled winners of its 18th edition with the Best Documentary feature award going to “And Again,” while Best Narrative feature went to “The Color Wheel” and “Snow on tha Bluff.” The Audience Award went to “Some Girls Never Learn,” which also won the festival’s “Made in Chicago” award from the jury. Several programs will have repeat screenings through Thursday, June 9 at the Gene Siskel Film Center. “The Color Wheel” will also have its New York premiere as a part of BAMcinemaFest on Sunday, June 19, 2011 at 7pm.

A portion of the press release follows:

The 18th Chicago Underground Film Festival (CUFF), presented by IFP /Chicago, kicked off on Thursday, June 2, showcasing a savvy program of film and video exploring the many definitions and interpretations of the ‘underground’ concept. All films were screened at the Gene Siskel Film Center, 164 North State Street. The winners for this year’s festival were announced on Sunday, June 5 at a heavy metal after-party upstairs at Delilah’s.

Each year, CUFF reveals a unique programming niche of films that ignore limitations of genre and are made with passion and drive. Audiences this year were again captivated by an array of films that included sixteen different programs of narrative, documentary and experimental film and video, question and answer sessions with many of the featured filmmakers, and a journey into the world of underground film.

Several programs from this year will repeat through Thursday June 9, including Damon Russell’s “Snow On Tha Bluff” which screens Tuesday June 7 at 8 pm. A complete list of repeat screenings follows at the end of this release.

Competitions were held in a variety of categories determined by the festival jury and winners were presented with handmade art pieces designed by Chicago artist Luke Breckon.

This year’s Audience Award, as chosen by festival attendees, was awarded to “Some Girls Never Learn” (USA) directed by Jerzy Rose. The film was also awarded the festival’s “Made in Chicago” award by the jury. Rose also won the “Made In Chicago” in 2008 for his short film “The Universe and Young Pilot Nelson” and a best narrative short film award in 2009 for “All Ghost Women Play The Theremin”

The jury award winners:
Best Documentary (feature) And Again – Adele Horne
Best Documentary (short) History Minor – Ryan Garrett
Best Experimental: Home Movie – John Price
Best Experimental: Slow Action – Ben Rivers
Best Narrative (feature): The Color Wheel – Alex Ross Perry
Best Narrative (feature): Snow on tha Bluff – Damon Russell

Honorable Mentions:
Young Bird Season – Nellie Kluz

Second Law: South Leh St. – Mike Gibisser

Chainsaw Found Jesus – Spencer Parsons

Devil’s Gate – Laura Kraning

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox