Back to IndieWire

LAFF Jury: Lynn Shelton, Daniel Waters, Jeff Malmberg, Lisa Gay Hamilton

LAFF Jury: Lynn Shelton, Daniel Waters, Jeff Malmberg, Lisa Gay Hamilton

The Los Angeles Film Festival’s 2011 narrative competition jurors include director Lynn Shelton (Humpday, My Effortless Brilliance; pictured), Eric Nakamura (Head/Founder of Giant Robot), and screenwriter Daniel Waters (Heathers, Batman Returns).

The documentary jury boasts director Jeff Malmberg (Marwencol; pictured), Michael Lumpkin (exec director of the International Documentary Association) and Slate Magazine co-editor Laurie Ochoa. The shorts jury is comprised of casting director Margery Simkin, fllm critic Alonso Duralde and actress Lisa Gay Hamilton. “What unites them,” says fest artistic director David Ansen, “is their singular passion for movies.”

The jurors will hand out cash rewards, as listed below. The competition and audience awards will be announced ad the awards brunch on June 26, hosted by actors Alisson Janney and John C. Reilly.

Unrestricted cash awards are given out in the following categories: Jury Award for Best Narrative Feature ($15,000), Jury Award for Best Documentary Feature ($15,000), Best Animated or Experimental Short ($5,000), Best Documentary Short ($5,000), and Best Narrative Short ($5,000). The jury also hands out an award for Best Outstanding Performance in a Narrative Feature.

The Audience Awards, which are chosen based on ballots submitted by Festival audiences, are presented in the following categories: Narrative Feature, Documentary Feature, International Feature, Short Film and Music Video.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox