Back to IndieWire

The 2nd Annual Lilly Awards to Be Handed Out On June 6 in NYC

The 2nd Annual Lilly Awards to Be Handed Out On June 6 in NYC

This Monday, June 6, the 2nd annual Lilly Awards named for playwright Lillian Hellman will be awarded in NYC. “The Lilly Awards were created to recognize the extraordinary contributions made by women to the American Theatre.”

The committee which includes notable theatre artists including: Julia Jordan, Theresa Rebeck, Marsha Norman, Tim Sanford and Gary Garrison will confer several as yet unnamed awards as well as lifetime achievement awards to Manhattan Theater Club’s Artistic Director Lynne Meadow and playwright Ntozake Shange.

There are a limited number of tickets available. Details are here.

Bios of honorees (from the press release):

Lynn Meadow is both a producer and director. In her nearly forty-year tenure at Manhattan Theatre Club, she has directed and/or produced over 450 New York and World Premieres. Under her leadership the plays at MTC have received 6 Pulitzer Prizes and 17 Tony Awards. Pulitzers include Crimes of the Heart by Beth Henley, and Ruined by Lynn Nottage. She is the 2011 recipient of the Lucille Lortel Lifetime Achievement Award.

Ntozake Shange is a renowned playwright, poet, and novelist. Her illustrious career includes the 1977 OBIE Award winning play for colored girls who have considered suicide when the rainbow is enuf, three novels, five children’s books, six volumes of poetry, a Pushcart Prize, and a Guggenheim Fellowship. She was the World Heavyweight Poetry Champion from 1991-1995.

Theatre Women Create Awards in Honor of Lillian Hellman (Women and Hollywood)

The Lilly Awards Honor Women in Theatre (The Women’s Media Center)

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Uncategorized and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox