Back to IndieWire

Xavier Gens & Christopher Smith Round Out “ABCs of Death” Series

Xavier Gens & Christopher Smith Round Out "ABCs of Death" Series

Genre vets Xavier Gens (“Frontiers,” “Hitman”) and Christopher Smith (“Severance,” “Black Death”) are on board for thriller series, “The ABCs of Death,” a 26 chapter anthology produced by Drafthouse Films, Timpson Films and Magnet Releasing. Gens and Smith join 23 other filmmakers for the series, which will showcase ” death letter by letter.”

The 26th Director spot will be determined by short film competition to discover an aspiring new talent. The winning filmmaker will receive a $5000 cash prize and will be included in the final release of the film.

Participants will choose their own word and create a short film based off the letter “T.” The interpretation of the word and the format of the short film will be entirely up to competitors. The top 10 shorts will be determined by public voting and the winning director will be selected by the 25 “ABCs of Death” directors to become the 26th and final director.

“We expect a lot of talented folks around the world to step up to this challenge, I just hope someone attempts T is for Tabanid (blood-sucking insect) or Taws (a thong used for punishment),” commented Ant Timpson in a statement.

Submissions are open now and close on October 1 at midnight PST, and there is no entry fee to submit. Finalists will be announced October 31st and the winning filmmaker announced on November 15th. For more on the competition dates, parameters and rules, visit their their website.

The complete list of confirmed ABC Directors:

Kaare Andrews (“Altitude”)

Angela Bettis (“Roman”)

Ernesto Diaz Espinoza (“Mirageman,” “Mandrill”)

Jason Eisener (“Hobo With A Shotgun”)

Bruno Forzani and Héléne (“Amer”)

Adrian Garcia Bogliano (“Cold Sweat”)

Xavier Gens (“Frontiers,” “Hitman”)

Noburo Iguchi (“Machine Girl,” “Robo Geisha”)

Thomas Malling (“Norwegian Ninja”)

Yoshihiro Nishimura (“Tokyo Gore Police,” “Frankenstein Girl Vs. Vampire Girl”)

JT Petty (“Soft For Digging,” “The Burrowers”)

Banjong Pisanthanakun (“Shutter,” “Alone”)

Simon Rumley (“The Living and the Dead;” “Red, White and Blue”)

Marcel Sarmiento (“DeadGirl”)

Chris Smith (“Severance,” “Triangle”)

Srdjan Spasojevic (“A Serbian Film”)

Timo Tjahjanto (“Macabre”)

Andrew Traucki (“The Reef,” “Black Water”)

Nacho Vigalondo (“TimeCrimes”)

Jake West (“Doghouse,” “Evil Aliens”)

Ti West (“House of the Devil,” “The Innkeepers”)

Ben Wheatley (“Down Terrace,” “Kill List”)

Adam Wingard (“Pop Skull,” “A Horrible Way to Die”)

Anders Wulffmorgenthaler (“Princess”)

Yudai Yamaguchi (“Yakuza Weapon,” “Battlefield Baseball”)

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Toolkit and tagged ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox