Back to IndieWire

Belafonte Tribute and Akerman Retro Among First Highlights of 2011’s Viennale

Belafonte Tribute and Akerman Retro Among First Highlights of 2011's Viennale

Highlights for this year’s Viennale will include tributes to both Harry Belafonte and Jeremy Thomas, as well as a retrospective of Chantal Akerman’s work. The Viennale has also announced their first list of titles for their film programs, which include Akerman’s new film “La Folie Almayer,” Nicolas Winding Refn’s “Drive,” and Alex Ross Perry’s “The Color Wheel.” The 2011 Viennale will take place from October 20 to November 2.

Selections from the feature film, documentary and short film programs, respectively: [Courtesy of festival]

Feature Narratives:

Aitá– José Maria de Orbe, Spain 2010
Abrir puertas y ventanas– Milagros Mumenthaler, Argentina/Switzerland 2011
Ang damgo ni eleuteria– Remton Siega Zuasola, Philippines 2010
L’ Apollonide (Souvenirs de la maison close)– Bertrand Bonello, France 2011
Color perro que huye– Andrés Duque, Spain 2011
The Color Wheel– Alex Ross Perry, USA 2011
Drive– Nicolas Winding Refn, USA 2011
Els noms de Crist– Albert Serra, Spain 2011
L’ Exercice de l’État– Pierre Schoeller, France/Belgium 2011
La Folie Almayer– Chantal Akerman, B/F 2011
The Future– Miranda July, Germany/USA 2011
Le Gamin au vélo– Jean-Pierre Dardenne, Luc Dardenne, Belgium/France/Italy 2011
Habemus Papam– Nanni Moretti, France 2010
Le Havre– Aki Kaurismäki, Finland/France/Germany 2010
Hesher– Spencer Susser, USA 2010
Kaitan-shi jokei– Kumakiri Kazuyoshi, Japan 2010
Koi no tsumi– Sono Sion, Japan 2011
Melancholia– Lars von Trier, Denmark/Sweden/France/Germany 2011
Mildred Pierce– Todd Haynes, USA 2011
Musan il-gy– Park Jung-bum, South Korea 2010
Les Neiges du Kilimandjaro– Robert Guédiguian, France 2011
Os residentes– Tiago Mata Machado, Brazil 2010
Ostende– Laura Citarella, Argentina 2011
Schlafkrankheit– Ulrich Köhler, Germany/France/Netherlands 2011
Slow Action– Ben Rivers, UK 2010
Stadt Land Fluss– Benjamin Cantu, Germany 2011
Take Shelter– Jeff Nichols, USA 2011
Terri Azazel– Jacobs, USA 2011
Tomboy– Céline Sciamma, France 2011
Tropa de Elite 2 – o inimigo agora é outro– José Padilha, Brazil 2010
La vida útil– Federico Veiroj, Uruguay 2010

Feature Documentaries:

American Passages– Ruth Beckermann, Austria/USA 2011
Apenas me filme– Cláudia Nunes, Brazil 2011
Cave of Forgotten Dreams– Werner Herzog, USA/France 2010
Correspondencia– J. Mekas – J.L. Guerin José Luis Guerin, Jonas Mekas, Spain/USA 2011
Les Eclats (ma gueule, ma révolte, mon nom)– Sylvain George, France 2011
Disfarmer: A Portrait of America– Martin Lavut, Canada 2010
Dragonslayer– Tristan Patterson, USA 2011
Hit So Hard– P. David Ebersole, USA 2011
Linha vermelha– José Filipe Costa, Portugal 2011
Novias – madrinas – 15 años– Diego Levy, Pablo Levy, Argentina 2011
Palazzo delle Aquile– S. Savona, A. Porto, E. Sparatore, France/Italy 2011
Le Prince et son image– Hugues Le Paige, Belgium/France 2011
Rechokim– Ruthie Shatz, Adi Barash, Israel/USA/France 2011
Sing Your Song– Susanne Rostock, USA 2011
Sonnensystem– Thomas Heise, Germany 2011
Stand van de Sterren– Leonard Retel Helmrich, Netherlands/Indonesia 2011
Tahrir, Liberation Square– Stefano Savona, France/Italy/Egypt 2011
Tlatelolco– Lotte Schreiber, Austria/Mexiko 2011
Traduire– Nurith Aviv, France 2010
Unter Kontrolle– Volker Sattel, Germany 2011
Videodiary 2-1-2006 to the Present– Naomi Uman, Ukraine 2011
Way of Passion– Joerg Burger, Austria/Italy 2011
Yatasto– Hermes Paralluelo, Argentina 2011

Short Films:

All Flowers in Time– Jonathan Caouette, USA/Canada 2010
Alvorada vermelha– João Rui Guerra da Mata, João Pedro Rodrigues, Portugal 2011
Continuity (12 Rooms)– Jon Irving, USA 2011
Correspondence– Robert Fenz, USA/West New Guinea/Ethiopia 2011
Drexciya– Akosua Adoma Owusu, Ghana/USA 2010
Esel mit Schnee– Romuald Karmakar, Germany 2010
Frontier– Michael Almereyda, USA 2011
Führung– René Frölke, Germany 2011
Jour sombre– Johannes Hammel, Austria 2011
Sans-titre– Neïl Beloufa, France 2010
Schakale und Araber– Jean-Marie Straub, France 2011
Schwere Augen– Siegfried A. Fruhauf, Austria 2011
Theta Rhythm– Bojan Fajfric´, Netherlands/Yugoslavia 2010
Traces of an Elephant– Vanessa Nica Mueller, Germany /UK 2011
Trois miniatures– Pierre Léon, France 2010

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox