You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

“Michael” Nabs Melbourne International Film Festival Prize

"Michael" Nabs Melbourne International Film Festival Prize

The 60th edition of the Melbourne International Film Festival concluded last night, and handed out a few awards.

Markus Schleinzer’s “Michael” received the TeleScope Award for Best New Talent from the EU, with Saverio Costanzo’s “The Solitude of Prime Numbers” receiving honorable mention.

The Age Critics’ Award for best Australian feature at MIFF 2011 was “The Eye of the Storm,” Fred Schepisi’s adaptation of Patrick White’s acclaimed novel.

Following is a list of the shorts awards:

City of Melbourne Grand Prix for Best Short Film – “A Fine Young Man”

Film Victoria Erwin Radio Award for Best Australian Short Film – “The Palace”

Transmission Films Award for Emerging Australian Filmmaker – “At the Formal”

Cinema Nova Award for Best Fiction Short Film – “Green Crayons”

Holmesglen Award for Best Animation Short Film – “Nullarbor”

Swinburne Award for Best Documentary Short Film – “Leonids Story”

Melbourne International Film Festival Award for Best Experimental Short Film – “A History of Mutual Respect”

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox