Back to IndieWire

Fantastic Fest Lauds “A Boy,” “Bullhead,” “You’re Next” & More at Awards Ceremony

Fantastic Fest Lauds "A Boy," "Bullhead," "You're Next" & More at Awards Ceremony

Fantastic Fest awarded honored its winners Monday evening, with Japanese filmmaker Yoshihiro Nakamura’s “A Boy and His Samurai” winning the Audience Award at the event and Michael R. Roskam winning both the Best Picture prize for “Bullhead” and the Best Director nod in FF’s “Next Wave” Spotlight Competition. Adam Wingard’s “You’re Next” took Best Picture in the Horror Features category as well as Best Director, Best Screenplay (Simon Barrett) and Best Actress for Sharni Vinson in the section.

In other nods, “Milocrorze: A Love Story” took Best Picture in the Fantastic Features sidebar, and “Clown” by Danish director Mikkel Nørgaard took Best Picture in Fantastic Fest’s “Gutbuster Comedy Features” category as well as Best Screenplay for Casper Christensen and Frank Hvam.

The full list of Fantastic Fest winners with information provided by the festival:

Audience Award:

A Boy And His Samurai (Yoshihiro Nakamura)

Runners Up: You’re Next, Juan Of The Dead

“Next Wave” Spotlight Competition:

Best Picture – Bullhead

Best Director – Michael R. Roskam (Bullhead)

Best Screenplay – Josh MacDonald (The Corridor)

Best Actor – Matthias Schoenaerts (Bullhead)

Best Actress – Jessica Cole (Aardvark)

Special Jury Award for Boldness Of Vision: Beyond The Black Rainbow

Horror Features:

Best Picture – You’re Next

Best Director – Adam Wingard (You’re Next)

Best Screenplay – Simon Barrett (You’re Next)

Best Actor – Sean Harris (A Lonely Place To Die)

Best Actress – Sharni Vinson (You’re Next)

Fantastic Features:

Best Picture – Milocrorze: A Love Story

Best Director – Noboru Iguchi (Karate Robo Zaborgar)

Best Screenplay – Olafur Egilsson, Grimur Haonarson (Summerland)

Best Actor – Julián Villagrán (Extraterrestrial)

Best Actress – Sawa Masaki (Underwater Love)

Gutbuster Comedy Features:

Best Picture – Clown

Best Director – Steffen Haars, Flip Van Der Kuil (New Kids Turbo)

Best Screenplay – Casper Christensen, Frank Hvam (Clown)

Short Fuse: Horror Shorts

Winner: How To Rid Your Lover Of A Negative Emotion Caused By You (Nadia Litz)

Runner-up: The Unliving (Hugo Lilj)

Special Jury Award for Outstanding Achievement in Special Effects and
General Badassery: Brutal Relax (David Muñoz, Rafa Dengrá, Adrián

Fantastic Shorts:

Best Fantastic Short: Decapoda Shock (Javier Chillón)

Runner-up: All Men Are Called Robert (Marc-Henri Boulier)

Special Jury Mention for Acting: Robert Picardo (The Candidate)

Drawn and Quartered: Animated Shorts:

Best Animated Short: Last Norwegian Troll (Pjotr Sapegin)

Runner-up: Lazarov (NIETOV)

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox