Back to IndieWire

Finalists for the 2011 Samuel Goldwyn Writing Awards

Finalists for the 2011 Samuel Goldwyn Writing Awards

The Samuel Goldwyn Foundation unveiled the finalists for its 2011 Writing Awards Tuesday. They are: Amy Aniobi for “Blame Candy,” Devin Fearn for “Wendigo,” Georgia Lin for “The Long Short Drop,” Cameron Lund for “Practice Makes Perfect” and Robin Morton for “Reckoning.”

The awards will be announced on November 2 at UCLA.

Full press release:

Samuel Goldwyn, Jr., President of The Samuel Goldwyn Foundation, announced today the five finalists and judges for the 2011 Samuel Goldwyn Writing Awards, now in its 56th year.

The finalists, who submitted feature-length screenplays, were chosen from a field of more than 250 submissions from eight University of California campuses. They are:

Amy Aniobi UCLA Blame Candy

Devin Fearn UCLA Wendigo

Georgia Lin UCLA The Long Short Drop

Cameron Lund UCSB Practice Makes Perfect

Robin Morton UCLA Reckoning

This year’s judges are: producer and 2010 Oscar® nominee David Hoberman; five time Oscar nominee Paul Mazursky; and writer/producer and former Goldwyn Award winner, Melanie Marnich.

The awards were started by Samuel Goldwyn, Sr. in 1955 at UCLA to encourage young film, stage and television writers. Past winners include: Francis Ford Coppola, Eric Roth, Allison Anders and Pam Gray.

Teri Schwartz, Dean of UCLA’s School of Theater, Film and Television said, “It is an honor to for us to have this wonderful alliance with the prestigious Samuel Goldwyn Writing Awards. We have the greatest appreciation for the Goldwyn family. Their vision and commitment to rewarding excellence in dramatic writing from outstanding emerging talent is to be applauded. The UCLA School of Theater, Film and Television is a premier institution where storytelling is at the heart of all that we do, and as such, we are thrilled to be a part of this wonderful opportunity for our students.”

The $15,000 first prize, $7,500 second prize, $4,000 third prize, $2,000 and $1,000 honorable mentions will be awarded on Wednesday, November 2, at UCLA.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox