Back to IndieWire

Honor Roll: Producers Guild Recognizes Steven Spielberg

Honor Roll: Producers Guild Recognizes Steven Spielberg

The Producers Guild of America will honor Steven Spielberg with the 2012 David O. Selznick Achievement Award in Motion Pictures. The guild will bestow the producer, director, writer and Principal Partner of DreamWorks Studios with the award at the 23rd Annual Producers Guild ceremony on January 21st at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

Spielberg is the top-grossing director of all time, from E. T. and Indiana Jones to Jurassic Park and Jaws. Surprisingly, he has won just three Academy Awards, Best Director and Best Picture for Schindler’s List as well as Best Director for Saving Private Ryan. In some ways, like Alfred Hitchcock, who had to accept an honorary Oscar, Spielberg’s films are simply too popular.

Spielberg joins producing greats including Clint Eastwood, Billy Wilder, Brian Grazer, Jerry Bruckheimer, Stanley Kramer, Saul Zaentz, Roger Corman, Laura Ziskin, Kathleen Kennedy, and last years recipient Scott Rudin. Spielberg commented:

David O. Selznick is a true legend in the producing field, and I am tremendously honored to be associated with his name and to join the company of so many distinguished filmmakers who have received this accolade. I am extremely grateful to the Producers Guild.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox