Back to IndieWire

Winners of the 2011 Rona Jaffe Foundation Writers Award

Winners of the 2011 Rona Jaffe Foundation Writers Award

This is the 17th year that the Rona Jaffe Foundation has given awards to women writers at the early stage of their career. “This unique program offers grants to writers of fiction, creative nonfiction, and poetry to make writing time available and provide assistance for such specific purposes as child care, research and related travel costs.” This is the only national award exclusively dedicated to women writers.

How many awards actually think about the need for child care?

Each winner will receive $25,000. The 2011 winners are:
Melanie Drane, Apricot Irving, Fowzia Karimi, Namwali Serpell, Merritt Tierce, and JoAnn Wypijewski.

Learn more about them here.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Uncategorized and tagged ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox