You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

27th Film Independent Spirit Awards Date Announced

27th Film Independent Spirit Awards Date Announced

Film Independent today announced the official date of the 27th Independent Spirit Awards, the annual ceremony celebrating the best in independent filmmaking.

The awards will take place Saturday, February 25 in its traditional location in a tent on the beach in Santa Monica and will air later that evening at 10 pm ET/PT on IFC.

This year’s Film Independent Spirit Award Nominations will be announced on Tuesday, November 29 at the London West Hollywood Hotel.

Full release below:


Ceremony to Premiere Exclusively on IFC at 10:00 p.m. ET/PT

LOS ANGELES (October 27, 2011) – Film Independent, the non-profit arts organization that produces the Spirit Awards and the Los Angeles Film Festival, announced today that the 27th Film Independent Spirit Awards will return to its traditional Saturday afternoon on February 25 in a tent on the beach in Santa Monica. The premiere broadcast of the Film Independent Spirit Awards will air later that evening at 10:00 p.m. ET/PT on IFC. The 2012 Spirit Award nominees will be announced in a press conference on Tuesday, November 29 at The London West Hollywood Hotel. Film Independent members and all past Spirit Award winners and nominees will be eligible to vote for this year’s winners.

“The Film Independent Spirit Awards honors filmmakers who create original stories and celebrates artists with fresh, authentic voices,” said Film Independent Senior Director Sean McManus. “With the continued support of our long-standing broadcaster, IFC, the Spirit Award nominees and their work will reach a national audience.”

“Film Independent is a champion for independent filmmakers and the Spirit Awards are always an exciting star-studded celebration of films essential to fueling our popular culture,” said Jennifer Caserta, executive vice president and general manager of IFC. “We’re thrilled to again provide the exclusive premiere broadcast of the 2012 Spirit Awards.”

As the first event to exclusively honor independent film, the Film Independent Spirit Awards has made a name for itself as the premier awards show for the independent film community. Artists receiving industry recognition first at the Spirit Awards include Joel & Ethan Coen, Spike Lee, Oliver Stone, Ashley Judd, Robert Rodriguez, David O. Russell, Edward Burns, Aaron Eckhart, Neil LaBute, Darren Aronofsky, Spike Jonze, Charlie Kaufman, Hilary Swank, Marc Forster, Todd Field, Christopher Nolan, Zach Braff, Amy Adams, Lena Dunham and many more.

Last year’s host was comedian and actor Joel McHale, with major winners including Fox Searchlight’s Black Swan, which won Best Feature, Best Director, Best Female Lead, and Best Cinematography; Roadside Attractions’ Winter’s Bone, which won Best Supporting Female and Best Supporting Male; Focus Features’ The Kids Are All Right, which won Best Screenplay; Fox Searchlight’s 127 Hours, which won Best Male Lead; Weinstein Company’s The King’s Speech, which won Best Foreign Film; Sony Pictures Classic’s Get Low, which won Best First Feature; IFC Films’ Tiny Furniture, which won Best First Screenplay; Producers Distribution Agency’s Exit Through the Gift Shop, which won Best Documentary; and IFC Films’ Daddy Longlegs, which won the John Cassavetes Award.

In addition to celebrating the broad spectrum of independent filmmaking, the Spirit Awards is also the primary fundraiser for Film Independent’s year-round programs, which cultivate the careers of emerging filmmakers and promote diversity in the film industry. Tables and tickets to attend the Spirit Awards are first made available to Film Independent’s year-round supporters and Arts Circle members. To inquire about tables or tickets, please contact the Development Department at 310.432.1253.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox