You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

AFI FEST ’11 Announces Young Americans, New Auteur Lineups and a Spotlight on Joe Swanberg

AFI FEST '11 Announces Young Americans, New Auteur Lineups and a Spotlight on Joe Swanberg

The upcoming 25th edition of AFI FEST 2011 announced today the films featured in the event’s ‘Young Americans,’ ‘New Auteurs’ and ‘Spotlight’ sections.

‘Young Americans’ features work by new U.S. talent; ‘New Auteurs’ is composed of work from first and second-time feature film directors; and ‘Spotlight’ this year focuses on the films from Joe Swanberg’s Full Moon Triology (“Silver Bullets,” “Art History” and the world premiere of “The Zone”).

Among the highlights: Julia Loktev’s drama “The Loneliest Planet” starring Gael Garcia Bernal, Markus Schleinzer’s controversial Cannes shocker “Michael,” Justin Kurzel’s Australian true-crime thriller “Snowtown,” and “The Dish and the Spoon” starring Greta Gerwig.

Below are the the lineups for all three sections:

New Auteurs
“Attenberg”: DIR/SCR Athina Rachel Tsangari. Greece.
“Bonsai”: DIR/SCR Cristián Jiménez. Chile/France/Argentina/Portugal.
“Bullhead”: DIR/SCR Michaël R. Roskam. Belgium.
“Hanaan”: DIR/SCR Ruslan Pak. Russia/South Korea/Uzbek.
“The Loneliest Planet”: DIR/SCR Julia Loktev. USA/Germany.
“Michael”: DIR/SCR Markus Schleinzer. Austria.
“Oslo, August 31”: DIR Joachim Trier. SCR Eskil Vogt, Joachim Trier. Norway.
“Restless City”: DIR Andrew Dosunmu. SCR Eugene Gussenhoven. USA.
“Snowtown”: DIR Justin Kurzel. SCR Justin Kurzel, Shaun Grant. Australia.

Young Americans
“The Color Wheel”: DIR Alex Ross Perry. SCR Alex Ross Perry, Carlen Altman.
“The Dish and the Spoon”: DIR Alison Bagnall. SCR Alison Bagnall, Andrew Lewis.
“Dragonslayer”: DIR Tristan Patterson. (Documentary)
“Green”: DIR/SCR Sophia Takal.
“Spark of Being”: DIR Bill Morrison. (Experimental)
“Wuss”: DIR/SCR Clay Liford.

Spotlight on Joe Swanberg
“Silver Bullets”: DIR/SCR Joe Swanberg.
“Art History”: DIR Joe Swanberg. SCR Joe Swanberg, Josephine Decker, Kent Osborne.
“The Zone”: DIR/SCR Joe Swanberg. World Premiere.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Festivals and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox