Back to IndieWire

Final List of Foreign Language Academy Award Submissions

Final List of Foreign Language Academy Award Submissions

The submission list for the 84th Annual Academy Awards’ foreign-language category has been officially announced, with 63 countries selecting films. The selection includes high profile entries on this year’s festival circuit, including Wim Wenders’s “Pina” (Germany), Aki Kaurismaki’s “Le Havre” (Finland), Béla Tarr’s “The Turin Horse” (Hungary), Joseph Cedar’s “Footnote” (Israel), Asghar Farhadi’s “A Separation” (Iran) and Toronto Film Festival People’s Choice Award winner “Where Do We Go Now?,” directed by Nadine Labaki.

Labaki is part of a notable trend in the submissions, with a significant amount of countries submitting female-directed films, including France (Valérie Donzelli’s “Declaration of War”), Hong Kong (Ann Hui’s “A Simple Life”), Norway (Anne Sewitsky’s “Happy Happy”), Poland (Agnieszka Holland’s “In Darkness”), The Netherlands (Maria Peters’s “Sonny Boy”) and multiple others.

Last year, the category ended up being won by Denmark (in another female-directed example, Susanne Bier’s “In a Better World”). The list of announced submissions is below. The deadline for all countries to send in their submissions was October 3, 2011. The submitted motion pictures must be first released theatrically in their respective countries between October 1, 2010 and September 30, 2011.

Albania – Amnesty[, directed by Bujar Alimani

Argentina – Aballay, directed by Fernando Spiner

Austria – Breathing, directed by Karl Markovics

Belgium – Bullhead, directed by Michaël R. Roskam

Bosnia and Herzegovina – Belvedere, directed by Ahmed Imamović

Brazil – Tropa de Elite 2, directed by José Padilha

Bulgaria – Tilt, directed by Viktor Chouchkov

Canada – Monsieur Lazhar, directed by Philippe Falardeau

Chile – Violeta, directed by Andres Wood

China – Flowers of War, directed by Zhang Yimou

Colombia – The Colors of the Mountain, directed by Carlos César Arbeláez

Croatia – 72 Days, directed by Danilo Šerbedžija

Cuba – Habanastation, directed by Ian Padrón

Czech Republic – Alois Nebel, directed by Tomás Lunák

Denmark – SuperClásico, directed by Ole Christian Madsen

Dominican Republic – Love Child, directed by Leticia Tonos

Egypt – Lust, directed by Khaled El Hagar

Estonia – Letters to Angel, directed by Sulev Keedus

Finland – Le Havre, directed by Aki Kaurismaki

France – Declaration of War, directed by Valérie Donzelli

Georgia – Chantrapas, directed by Otar Iosseliani

Germany – Pina, directed by Wim Wenders

Greece – Attenberg, directed by Athina Rachel Tsangari

Hong Kong – A Simple Life, directed by Ann Hui

Hungary – The Turin Horse, directed by Bela Tarr

Iceland – Volcano, directed by Rúnar Rúnarsson

India – Adaminte Makan Abu, directed by Salim Ahamed

Indonesia – Under the Protection of Ka’Bah, directed by Hanny R. Saputra

Iran – A Separation, directed by Asghar Farhadi

Ireland – As If I Am Not There, directed by Juanita Wilson

Israel – Footnote, directed by Joseph Cedar

Italy – Terraferma, directed by Emanuele Crialese

Japan – Postcard, directed by Kaneto Shindō

Kazakhstan – Returning to the ‘A’, directed by Egor Mikhalkov-Konchalovsky

Lebanon – Where Do We Go Now?, directed by Nadine Labaki

Lithuania – Back to Your Arms, directed by Kristijonas Vildžiūnas

Macedonia – Punk’s Not Dead, directed by Vladimir Blazevski

Mexico – Miss Bala, directed by Gerardo Naranjo

Morocco – Omar Killed Me, directed by Roschdy Zem

Netherlands – Sonny Boy, directed by Maria Peters

New Zealand – The Orator, directed by Tusi Tamasese

Norway – Happy, Happy, directed by Anne Sewitsky

Peru – October, directed by Daniel Vega Vidal

Phillippines – The Woman in the Septic Tank, directed by Marlon Rivera

Poland – In Darkness, directed by Agnieszka Holland

Portugal – Jose and Pilar, directed by Miguel Gonçalves Mendes

Romania – Morgen, directed by Marian Crisan

Russia – Burnt By The Sun 2: Citadel, directed by Nikita Mikhalkov

Serbia – Montevideo, God Bless You!, directed by Dragan Bjelogrlić

Singapore – Tatsumi, directed by Eric Khoo

Slovakia – Gypsy, directed by Martin Sulik

Slovenia – Silent Sonata, directed by Janez Burger

South Africa – Beauty, directed by Oliver Hermanus

South Korea – The Front Line, directed by Jang Hun

Spain – Black Bread, directed by Agustí Villaronga

Sweden – Beyond, directed by Pernilla August

Switzerland – Summer Games, directed by Rolando Colla

Taiwan – Warriors of the Rainbow: Seediq Bale, directed by Wei Te-Sheng

Thailand – Kon Khon, directed by Sarunyu Wongkrachang

Turkey – Once Upon a Time in Anatolia, directed by Nuri Bilge Ceylan

United Kingdom – Patagonia, directed by Marc Evans

Uruguay – The Silent House, directed by Gustavo Hernández

Venezuela – The Rumble of the Stones, directed by Alejandro Bellame Palacios

Vietnam – Thang Long Aspiration, directed by Lưu Trọng Ninh

Get the latest on this year’s award season at indieWIRE’s new awards page.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox