Back to IndieWire

IDA and Cinema Eye 2011 Nominations: The Women

IDA and Cinema Eye 2011 Nominations: The Women

The International Documentary Association (IDA) and the Cinema Eye, two documentary organizations unveiled their 2011 nominees last week. Women filmmakers are very prevalent.

Here are the female nominees:

IDA (awards will be handed out December 2 in LA)
Best Feature Doc:
Better This World – Katie Galloway and Kelly Duane de la Vega
The Redemption of General Butt Naked – Daniele Anastasion and Eric Strauss
The Tiniest Place”(El Lugar Mas Pequeno) – Tatiana Huezo

Best Short:
Maya Deren’s Sink – Barbara Hammer
Minka – Davina Pardo
Poster Girl – Sara Nesson
The Warriors of Qiugang, – Ruby Yang and Thomas Lennon

Best Limited Series:
Boomtown – Executive Producer/Director: Rachel Libert
Michael Feinstein’s American Songbook – Director/Producer/Writer: Amber Edwards
The National Parks Project – Directors: Brenda Kovrig, Mike Downie, David New, Sarah Goodman, Jeff Thrasher, Sean Michael Turrell,Ryan J. Noth, Geoff Morrison

IDA Humanitas Award:
The Carrier – Maggie Betts
The Learning – Ramona Diaz
The Tiniest Place (El Lugar Mas Pequeno) – Tatiana Huezo

Full list of awards

Cinema Eye Awards (awards will be handed out January 11 at the Museum of Moving Image in NYC)

Nonfiction Feature Filmmaking:
The Arbor – Directed by Clio Barnard

Outstanding Achievement in Direction:
Clio Barnard for The Arbor

Outstanding Achievement in Production:
Renate Sachse for Nostalgia for the Light
Erik Nelson and Adrienne Ciuffo for Cave of Forgotten Dreams

Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography:
Alma Har’el for Bombay Beach

Outstanding Achievement in Editing:
Jennifer Tiexiera and Lizzy Calhoun for Dragonslayer
Hanna Lejonqvist SFK & Göran Hugo Olsson for The Black Power Mix Tape 1967 – 1975

Outstanding Achievement in Graphic Design and Animation:
Kinda Akash for Project Nim
Mike Nicholson and Allison Moore for Better This World

Outstanding Achievement in Original Music Score:
Harry Escott and Molly Nyman for The Arbor

Outstanding Achievement in a Debut Feature Film:
The Arbor, Directed by Clio Barnard
Bombay Beach, Directed by Alma Har’el

Spotlight Award:
The Tiniest Place – Directed by Tatiana Huezo Sánchez
Scenes of a Crime – Directed by Blue Hadaegh and Grover Babcock

Audience Choice Prize:
Buck – Directed by Cindy Meehl

Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Short Filmmaking:
Minka – Directed by Davina Pardo

Full list of awards

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Uncategorized and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox